Search for books by author, title, subject or keyword on the NUS Library website, either in the default search box or LINC (Library Integrated Catalogue).
The following subject terms will be helpful in the subject search.
Arbitration in Singapore : a practical guide by
Available online through Westlaw Asia
A commentary on the LCIA arbitration rules 2020 by 
Handbook of ICC arbitration : commentary and materials by 
International Arbitration by
Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook on CasebookConnect, including: lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities, plus an outline tool and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. Learn more about Connected eBooks. This important casebook is based on the leading commentary in the field--Born''s treatise, International Commercial Arbitration (Kluwer Law International, 3d ed. 2021). The casebook provides a comprehensive treatment of international commercial arbitration (focused on the New York Convention and UNCITRAL Model Law), while also offering comparative examples drawn from state-to-state and investment arbitration. An easy-to-use chronological structure follows the course of an international arbitration. Careful case excerpts allow instruction to focus on key stages of the arbitration, legal issues and practical aspects of international arbitration, while also providing opportunities for discussions of policy considerations. New to the Third Edition: Comprehensively updated through April 2021 to include: Legislative enactments, judicial decisions, arbitral awards, institutional rule amendments, and other developments Excerpts of, and notes on, GE Power v. Outokumpu Stainless, Enka v. Chubb, Halliburton v. Chubb, ASA Bioenergy v. Ometto, and recent arbitral awards Updates of all leading institutional arbitration rules Notes on ALI Restatement of the U.S. Law of International Commercial and Investor-State Arbitration Revisions to IBA Guidelines on Conflicts of Interest in International Arbitration, proposed UNCITRAL/ICSID Code of Conduct for Adjudicators in International Investment Disputes, and Prague Rules on Efficient Conduct of International Arbitration Proceedings Updated Notes with issues encountered in an international arbitration practice group, including in-person versus remote hearings, arbitrator selection, multi-party arbitrations, and costs Professors and student will benefit from: A text that is: Based on Gary Born''s treatise, International Commercial Arbitration, Third Edition, which is recognized as the leading treatise in the field and is routinely cited in decisions by the U.S., U.K., Canadian, Australian, Indian, and other Supreme Courts Thoroughly international, with materials focused on the New York Convention and Inter-American Convention, and the UNCITRAL Model Law Directed toward international commercial arbitration, while including chapters and materials on investment arbitration and state-to-state arbitration, which can be included with varying levels of emphasis: courses can focus largely on international commercial arbitration or, alternatively, treat all types of international arbitration equally Materials including judicial decisions and statutory materials drawn from all leading jurisdictions (European, Asian, Americas, etc.) and arbitral awards under all leading institutional and other rules A thorough treatment of international arbitration in the United States, under the Federal Arbitration Act Carefully edited excerpts of judicial decisions, awards, institutional arbitration rules, and other materials, to focus instruction and classroom discussion on key issues Notes and questions identify practical issues arising in international arbitration Experienced authors with 35 years of practice as counsel and arbitrator in international arbitrations and close involvement with leading international arbitral institutions Teaching materials Include: Teacher''s Manual Born''s Lectures (available separately, at limited cost, from Wolters Kluwer), together with PowerPoints
International Arbitration: Law and Practice by
International Arbitration: Law and Practice (Third Edition) provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the basic principles and legal doctrines, and the practice, of international arbitration. The book contains a systematic, but concise, treatment of all aspects of the arbitral process, including international arbitration agreements, international arbitral proceedings and international arbitral awards. The Third Edition guides both students and practitioners through the entire arbitral process, beginning with drafting, enforcing and interpreting international arbitration agreements, to selecting arbitrators and conducting arbitral proceedings, to recognizing, enforcing and seeking to annul arbitral awards. The book is written in clear, accessible language, suited for both law students and non-specialist practitioners, as well as more experienced readers. This highly regarded work addresses both international commercial arbitration and the related fields of investment and state-to-state arbitration and is essential reading for any student of international arbitration and any practitioner seeking a complete introduction to the field. The Third Edition has been comprehensively updated to include recent legislative amendments, judicial decisions and arbitral awards. Among other things, the book provides detailed treatment of the New York Convention, the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration, all leading institutional arbitration rules (including ICC, SIAC, LCIA, AAA and others), the ICSID Convention and ICSID Arbitration Rules, and judicial decisions from leading jurisdictions. The Third Edition is integrated with the author's classic International Commercial Arbitration and with the online Born International Arbitration Lectures, enabling students, teachers and practitioners to explore particular topics in more detail. About the Author: Gary B. Born is the world's leading authority on international arbitration and litigation. He has practiced extensively in both fields in Europe, the United States, Asia and elsewhere. He is the author of International Commercial Arbitration (Kluwer Law International 3rd ed. 2021), International Arbitration and Forum Selection Agreements: Drafting and Enforcing (Kluwer Law International 6th ed. 2021), International Commercial Arbitration: Cases and Materials (Aspen 3rd ed. 2021) and International Civil Litigation in United States Courts (Aspen 6th ed. 2018).
International Arbitration Discourse and Practices in Asia by
International business exchanges between and with Asian countries have increased enormously over the last few years. As a natural consequence, this has brought about an increasing number of trade disputes that are being resolved through arbitration as an effective alternative to more expensive litigation. This volume offers a variety of perspectives on this important international dispute resolution practice in Asia. Essentially interdisciplinary in approach, it brings together specialists in law, international commercial arbitration and discourse analysis. The contributing authors include practitioners as well as academics. Together they explore the interrelations between discourses and practices in the field of arbitration in Asia. The work also investigates the extent to which the 'integrity' of arbitration principles, typical of international commercial arbitration practice, is maintained in various Asian contexts. The authors focus particularly on arbitration norms and practices as they are influenced by local juridical, cultural and linguistic factors. The book will be a valuable resource for academics and practitioners working in the areas of arbitration and dispute resolution, as well as researchers with an interest in language, communication and discourse analysis. luenced by local juridical, cultural and linguistic factors. The book will be a valuable resource for academics and practitioners working in the areas of arbitration and dispute resolution, as well as researchers with an interest in language, communication and discourse analysis.
International arbitration in Singapore : legislation and materials by 
International Arbitration Rule Book : a guide to arbitral regimes by 
International Commercial Arbitration by
Volume 1. International arbitration agreements -- volume 2. International arbitral procedures -- volume 3. International arbitral awards.
International Commercial Arbitration by
International Commercial Arbitration is an authoritative 4,250 page treatise, in three volumes, providing the most comprehensive commentary and analysis, on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process that is available. The Third Edition of International Commercial Arbitration has been comprehensively revised, expanded and updated, To include all legislative, judicial and arbitral authorities, and other materials in the field of international arbitration prior to June 2020. It also includes expanded treatment of annulment, recognition of awards, counsel ethics, arbitrator independence and impartiality and applicable law. The revised 4,250 page text contains references to more than 20,000 cases, awards and other authorities and will enhance the treatise's position as the world's leading work on international arbitration. The first and second editions of International Commercial Arbitration have been routinely relied on by courts and arbitral tribunals around the world ((including the highest courts of the United States, United Kingdom, Singapore, India, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Australia, the Netherlands and Canada) and international arbitral tribunals (including ICC, SIAC, LCIA, AAA, ICSID, SCC and PCA), e.g.: U.S. Supreme Court - GE Energy Power Conversion France SAS, Corp. v. Outokumpu Stainless USA, LLC, 590 U.S. - (U.S. S.Ct. 2020); BG Group plc v. Republic of Argentina, 572 U.S. 25 (U.S. S.Ct. 2014); Canadian Supreme Court - Uber v. Heller, 2020 SCC 16 (Canadian S.Ct.); Yugraneft Corp. v. Rexx Mgt Corp., [2010] 1 R.C.S. 649, 661 (Canadian S.Ct.); U.K. Supreme Court - Jivraj v. Hashwani [2011] UKSC 40, ¶78 (U.K. S.Ct.); Dallah Real Estate & Tourism Holding Co. v. Ministry of Religious Affairs, Gov't of Pakistan [2010] UKSC 46 (U.K. S.Ct.); Swiss Federal Tribunal - Judgment of 25 September 2014, DFT 5A_165/2014 (Swiss Fed. Trib.); Indian Supreme Court - Bharat Aluminium v. Kaiser Aluminium, C.A. No. 7019/2005, ¶¶138-39, 142, 148-49 (Indian S.Ct. 2012); Singapore Court of Appeal - Rakna Arakshaka Lanka Ltd v. Avant Garde Maritime Servs. Ltd, [2019] 2 SLR 131 (Singapore Ct. App.); PT Perusahaan Gas Negara (Persero) TBK v. CRW Joint Operation, [2015] SGCA 30 (Singapore Ct. App.); Larsen Oil & Gas Pte Ltd v. Petroprod Ltd, [2011] SGCA 21, ¶19 (Singapore Ct. App.); Australian Federal Court - Hancock Prospecting Pty Ltd v. Rinehart, [2017] FCAFC 170 (Australian Fed. Ct.); Hague Court of Appeal - Judgment of 18 February 2020, Case No. 200.197.079/01 (Hague Gerechtshof); Arbitral Tribunals - Lao Holdings NV v. Lao People's Democratic Republic I, Award in ICSID Case No. ARB(AF)/12/6, 6 August 2019; Gold Reserve Inc. v. Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Decision regarding the Claimant's and the Respondent's Requests for Corrections, ICSID Case No. ARB(AF)/09/1, 15 December 2014; Total SA v. The Argentine Republic, Decision on Stay of Enforcement of the Award, ICSID Case No. ARB/04/01, 4 December 2014; Millicom Int'l Operations B.V. v. Republic of Senegal, Decision on Jurisdiction of the Arbitral Tribunal, ICSID Case No. ARB/08/20, 16 July 2010; Lemire v. Ukraine, Dissenting Opinion of Jürgen Voss, ICSID Case No. ARB/06/18, 1 March 2011.
International Commercial Arbitration and Mediation in UNCITRAL Model Law Jurisdictions by
International Commercial Arbitration and Mediation in UNCITRAL Model Law Jurisdictions Fourth Edition Dr Peter Binder This new edition of a classic text is so extensively revised and updated as to constitute a new book. It does, however, retain the tried and tested article-by-article structure of the previous three editions: it covers all the information needed when contemplating cross-border arbitration or mediation and enables a practitioner to ascertain what to expect in each jurisdiction. It remains the only book that provides a complete overview of all the adopting jurisdictions (now 111) at one glance, with a description of the legislation in these jurisdictions counterbalanced by court rulings to demonstrate how matters are dealt with in everyday practice. The popular adoption chart matrix unique to this book has been further enhanced and updated. Featuring the first full commentary on the newly released 2018 UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Mediation (including its revolutionary regime for the enforcement of settlement agreements reached by means of mediation) and an update of all case law on UNCITRAL texts (CLOUT) to date, the fourth edition provides explicit expert guidance on such matters as the following: overview of each jurisdiction that has enacted the Model Laws; provisions in a particular national Model Law enactment to be watched out for; how a particular issue dealt with in a Model Law enacting jurisdiction has been handled by local courts; and which jurisdictions can be safely recommended in arbitration or mediation clauses in international commercial agreements. Both of the Model Laws are reproduced in full in an appendix. With an examination of each provision's legislative history as well as national and subnational adoptions of the Model Laws, this work provides a complete picture of global practice in international arbitration and mediation as it exists today, taking full account of emerging trends in the enactment process and in case law. Business people who agree to arbitrate in one of the 111 recognized Model Law jurisdictions can rely on a secure minimum of rights in the arbitral proceedings and run less risk of being surprised by unwelcome peculiarities of local law. International litigation lawyers, arbitrators, and in-house lawyers who are considering arbitrating or mediating in one of the 111 jurisdictions analysed, academics in international ADR, and national government officials dealing with cross-border trade will benefit enormously from this new edition.
International Investment Law and Arbitration by
International investment law and arbitration is a rapidly evolving field, and can be difficult for students to acquire a firm understanding of, given the considerable number of published awards and legal writings. The first edition of this text, cited by courts in Singapore and Colombia, overcame this challenge by interweaving extracts from these arbitral decisions, treaties and scholarly works with concise, up-to-date and reliable commentary. Now fully updated and with a new chapter on arbitrators, the second edition retains this practical structure along with the carefully curated end-of-chapter questions and readings. The authors consider the new chapter an essential revision to the text, and a discussion which is indispensable to understanding the present calls for reform of investment arbitration. The coverage of the book has also been expanded, with the inclusion of over sixty new awards and judicial decisions, comprising both recent and well-established jurisprudence. This textbook will appeal to graduates studying international investment law and international arbitration, as well as being of interest to practitioners in this area.
The law and theory of international commercial arbitration in Singapore by
This book marks the coming of age of international commercial arbitration in Singapore and is the first treatise of its kind on the subject. Within a relatively short span of time, Singapore arbitration law has also grown apace, in tandem with international jurisprudence in may respects but has also forged its own path in unchartered territory. This book provides not just an overview of, but also in-depth practical and theoretical coverage of the entire range of topics on the subject. Whilst a core function of this book is to introduce current legal principles of international commercial arbitration under Singapore law, readers can expect intensive analyses of these principles. The result is thus a guide that is current and therefore practical, as well as predictive and therefore cutting-edge.
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration by
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration is an established treatise on the law and practice of international arbitration, the pre-eminent method for the peaceful resolution of disputes in international trade, investment, and commerce. This book serves as an introduction, following the chronology of an arbitration from the drafting of the arbitration agreement right through to the enforcement of the arbitral award. Written by an author team with extensive experience as counsel and abitrators, the book has been read and cited by international lawyers, arbitrators, and judges, and has become a key learning text for teachers, students, and potential arbitrators in colleges and universities across the world. The seventh edition has been significantly revised to incorporate the latest significant developments in the field, includling changes in investor state dispute resolution, leading court decisions on arbitration matters in a wider number of jurisdictions, changes in the 'soft law' of leading international arbitral institutions and of the International Bar Association, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the practice of international arbitration. This shorter, paperback edition does not include the appendices.
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration by
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration is an established treatise on the law and practice of international arbitration, the pre-eminent method for the peaceful resolution of disputes in international trade, investment, and commerce. This book serves as an introduction, following thechronology of an arbitration from the drafting of the arbitration agreement right through to the enforcement of the arbitral award. Written by an author team with extensive experience as counsel and abitrators, the book has been read and cited by international lawyers, arbitrators, and judges, andhas become a key learning text for teachers, students, and potential arbitrators in colleges and universities across the world.The seventh edition has been significantly revised to incorporate the latest significant developments in the field, includling changes in investor state dispute resolution, leading court decisions on arbitration matters in a wider number of jurisdictions, changes in the 'soft law' of leadinginternational arbitral institutions and of the International Bar Association, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the practice of international arbitration.
The SICC handbook : a guide to the rules and procedures of the Singapore International Commercial Court by 
Singapore Arbitration Legislation by
This book provides a comprehensive and in depth guide to the regulatory framework in Singapore, the first of its kind for the foremost jurisdiction for international arbitration in the Asia-Pacific geographic zone. It is designed with practitioners in mind and provides terse and specific but detailed and well-informed commentary to each of the sections in the applicable arbitration acts. It sets out and annotates the two legislative acts applicable to arbitration in Singapore, as well as the Singapore International Arbitration Centre Rules. In addition, international documents including the Uncitral Model Law and the New York Convention are included.
Singapore international arbitration : law and practice by 
The Principles and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration by
This book not only deals with the broad application of international treaties, guidelines, laws and rules affecting international commercial arbitration, but also includes information about the most recent developments in the field. Readers learn how arbitration works, from the request to arbitrate, the selection of arbitrators, the procedures leading up to the hearing, the witnesses and evidence at the hearing, to the granting of the final award. Along the way, many strategies and tactics come into play, as an arbitration moves toward the goal of resolving the dispute. The reader learns to appreciate the application of different laws and ethical concepts that may vary by jurisdiction, including the ethical obligations of arbitrators and of counsel. Throughout, the principles of international arbitration are supported by the practice, providing a very concrete approach to the resolution of international disputes by arbitration.
The UNCITRAL Model Law and Asian Arbitration Laws by
In the Asia-Pacific, thirty-eight jurisdictions have adopted the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration. This book looks at how the text and the principles of the Model Law have been implemented (or not) in key Asian jurisdictions. Most of the jurisdictions covered in this book have declared that they have adopted the Model Law but often with significant modifications. Even when jurisdictions adopt some provisions of the Model Law verbatim, their courts may have interpreted these provisions in a manner inconsistent with their goals and with how they are interpreted internationally. When a jurisdiction has not adopted the Model Law, the chapter compares its legislation to the Model Law to determine whether it is consistent with its principles. Each chapter follows the structure of the Model Law allowing the reader to easily compare the arbitration laws of different jurisdictions on each topic.
Kluwer Arbitration database provides access to more than 400 e-books on International Arbitration. Click on 'Books & Publications' to browse the list of books.
The International Commercial Arbitration collection in the Oxford Legal Research Library (OLRL) database provides access to e-books in this subject area. Click on the title list to browse the book collection. OLRL allows full text and advanced searching across all available titles.
Achieving the Arbitration Dream by
A celebration of the multi-faceted legacy of a key figure in the evolution of international arbitration, this collection of world-class contributions provides critical perspectives and in-depth analyses by leading arbitration professionals and scholars on a wide range of cutting-edge topics in the field of law of which Julian Lew was a founder, and in which he remains an outstanding arbitrator and teacher. Inspired by Lew''s profound influence on the understanding of arbitration as an autonomous and international field of practice, more than forty distinguished contributors address the main trends shaping the arbitration system as it continues to evolve. The chapters in this book offer insightful commentary on a variety of topics gathered under the following headings: applicable law; evidence and procedure; jurisdiction and substantive issues; the arbitrators'' role; the seat; and third-party funders. In a field which has become increasingly busy in terms of events and publications, the high number of contributors to this volume is a testament to the great esteem that Julian Lew enjoys among his peers. With perspectives from a wide diversity of backgrounds, the authors shed clear light on international arbitration''s emerging and future challenges, greatly benefitting the work of both practitioners and academics in the field.
Arbitration Beyond Borders by
The influential vision and work of the late Guillermo Aguilar Álvarez, one of the world's leading arbitral innovators, have left the principles and practice of international arbitration with a rich legacy of insight and achievement. In this one-of-a-kind book, thirty-two prominent arbitrators and scholars consider the vital issues that concerned him and to which he often gave a new clarity. Each chapter addresses a cutting-edge issue of contemporary international arbitration, including the following: ethical standards for party representatives in international arbitration responsibilities of international arbitrators in the conduct of proceedings alternatives to investment arbitration corruption and "red flags" in international arbitration abuse of rights in restructuring to access investment protection foreign investment disputes under the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement 2020 the illegality defense in investor-State arbitration arbitration and insolvency status of annulled awards in investment arbitration the arbitration 'backlash' The collection addresses, in depth, some of the most pressing technical and political considerations facing international arbitration today. Its focus will enable arbitrators and all whose work involves them in the arbitral process, as well as academics in the field, to equip themselves to address critical issues as they arise during the conduct of any international commercial or investment arbitration.
A commentary on the LCIA arbitration rules 2020 by Commercial Dispute Resolution in China: An Annual Review and Preview
Contract Law in International Commercial Arbitration by
The vast bulk of claims in international commercial arbitration are contractual in nature. Viewed through that lens, what comes to occupy centre stage in the arbitration of disputes is the choice of applicable contract law. This book breaks new ground by for the first time focusing in depth on the contract law chosen by the parties to be applied to disputes. The author uses a comparative-inductive methodology to analyse why - according to statistics of the International Chamber of Commerce - English, New York, and Swiss contract law outperform transnational and other contract law regimes in the choice-of-law provision of business contracts. He finds that these three bodies of law share a firm commitment to enforcing the contract as written, thus prioritizing certainty, stability, and predictability, and clearly recognizing the parties' right to determine for themselves (and have arbitrators and courts respect) central issues such as risk allocation and price. Starting from a detailed comparative examination of traditional and contemporary theories of contract, the author develops a minimalist approach that is acceptable to lawyers with a civil or common law background and that facilitates dealmaking by providing a clear set of hard-edged rules in four areas - formation of contracts, invalidity and public policy, contract interpretation, and damages for breach - and showing how each of the three contract regimes that are dominant in practice manifests his approach. With its emphasis on pragmatic adjudication grounded on facts and consequences rather than on conceptualisms and generalities, the book greatly enhances the ability of arbitrators to make decisions based on legal arguments that fit the setting of international commercial arbitration. It is sure to become established as a tool to achieve the defined objective of facilitating cross-border commercial transactions as well as providing arbitrators with a set of rules for the interpretation of contractual provisions and the quantification of damages. 'Peter Sester confronts the reality that disputes in commercial arbitration are overwhelmingly contract-based, and properly directs our attention away from the contract by which the parties agreed to arbitrate to the contract by reference to which they intended their disputes to be adjudicated. This is a most welcome move and one that cannot help stimulate those whose interests are similarly situated on the frontier between the law of arbitration and the law of international contracts.' Prof. George A. Bermann Columbia University, New York City 'This is a book that is not only useful but also close to market expectations. ... Summing up, I would like to congratulate Peter Sester for giving us a free-market society book. He provides his readers with much food for thought and a remarkable admonition not to replace the parties' work with public policy considerations.' Prof. Dr Peter Nobel Emeritus Universities St. Gallen and Zurich, Switzerland
Dealing with Bribery and Corruption in International Commercial Arbitration by
International Arbitration Law Library, Volume 65 International commercial arbitration is by no means free from bribery and corruption. Although a plethora of legal scholarship clearly affirms this contention, a thorough study on the particularly important question of the authority and duty of international commercial arbitrators to investigate a suspicion or indication of bribery or corruption sua sponte ¬- that is, on their own initiative - has been surprisingly lacking. This important book fills this gap, inter alia, by locating sua sponte authority in the position of arbitral tribunals in establishing the facts of a case and ascertaining and applying the applicable normative standards. In addition to providing a comprehensive examination of how the issue of bribery and corruption is dealt with in contemporary international commercial arbitration, the book also highlights the role of arbitrators in global efforts to combat transnational commercial bribery and corruption. Among others, the following critical issues are thoroughly investigated: arbitrability of issues of public interests; intermediary contracts; role of arbitrators in the fact-finding process; party autonomy versus overriding mandatory rules; iura novit curia in international commercial arbitration in the context of bribery and corruption; notion of transnational (or 'truly international') public policy; arbitrators' duty to act as guardians of international commerce; investigative tools available to arbitrators; dealing with manifestly recalcitrant parties; possible consequences of violating the obligation to sua sponte investigate; and the view from developing countries. The analysis leans primarily on Swiss law, as Switzerland is one of the most important jurisdictions in international commercial arbitration; Switzerland has also been involved in some of the most famous and controversial arbitration cases wherein bribery and corruption became an issue. However, the study also includes a comparative analysis of the relevant laws, jurisprudence, and doctrine of other major arbitration venues, particularly England, France, and Germany. Not only in the light it sheds on how and whether international commercial arbitrators have hitherto justified the trust States have placed in them regarding the protection of the public interests but also in the practical solutions it offers arbitrators faced with issues of bribery and corruption, this deeply researched book equips arbitration practitioners and arbitration institutions with a hitherto lacking in-depth analysis on the question of sua sponte investigation. It also provides invaluable insights on how this issue might affect the future, legitimacy and expansion of this dispute settlement mechanism. Outside the field of arbitration, the book also provides jurists, legal scholars, in-house counsel for companies doing transnational business and public officials with highly enlightening perspectives on the interaction between international commercial arbitration and public interests.
Deference in International Commercial Arbitration by
In international arbitration, deference entails that one decision-maker does not make an autonomous assessment but limits its decision-making power out of respect for the decision or authority of another actor. For example, a court exercising post-award review might refrain from reviewing a question of procedure de novo but instead defer to a prior determination made by the arbitral tribunal. In this book, prominent arbitration practitioners and academics offer the first systematic analysis of such deference in international arbitration. With abundant reference to case law from major arbitration hubs, the analysis is organized around the three relationships in which questions of deference arise: public-private relationships in which a State actor (e.g., a court) must decide whether it should pay deference to determinations made by a private actor (e.g., a tribunal or an arbitral institution); public-public relationships in which a State actor (e.g., a court at the place of recognition and enforcement) must decide whether it should pay deference to another State actor (e.g., a court at the seat); and private-private relationships in which a private actor (e.g., an arbitral tribunal) must decide whether it should pay deference to another private actor (e.g., another arbitral tribunal or an arbitral institution). The book makes an important contribution to tracing the boundaries of the multiple layers of control over arbitration proceedings. It takes a giant step towards establishing the right equilibrium between the different layers of authority and thus meeting a pivotal challenge for the viability of arbitration as a form of dispute resolution.
Handbook of UNCITRAL arbitration by 
International Arbitration and Technology by
Digitalization is increasingly impacting the practice of international arbitration. Especially in the wake of COVID-19, technological solutions are adopted by counsel, tribunals, and arbitral institutions. This trend is likely to continue in the future, thus changing the way in which international arbitration is practiced. International arbitration and technology offers the first up-to-date and comprehensive overview of the interplay between technology and international arbitration, with a specific focus on the technological developments which are currently available and already practically relevant. The authors' practical perspectives on the impact of technology on arbitration yield valuable insights for arbitrators, tribunal secretaries, international arbitration counsel, and arbitral institutions. As many aspects of their work are already impacted by technology, they will find much value within this book's pages. Furthermore, the book is of interest for academics working in the fields of international dispute resolution, and law and technology.
International Commercial Mediation by
In this comprehensive comparative study, Ronán Feehily analyses the legal and regulatory issues surrounding international commercial mediation and discusses their implications in a range of settings. While existing literature tends to cover mediation in general, Feehily places the commercial mediation process in its legal and regulatory context, offering an original contribution to the field. The book identifies the controversies that arise from the mediation process across numerous jurisdictions and discusses them in detail. Comparing the mediation process in Europe, North America and Australia, as well as other common, civil and 'mixed' jurisdictions, Feehily demonstrates where systemic differences are transcended and where they are significant. Organised systematically and written in an accessible style, Feehily offers an international, holistic guide to the commercial mediation process.
Jurisdiction of arbitral tribunals by The law and theory of international commercial arbitration in Singapore by 
Mediation As a Mandatory Pre-Condition to Arbitration by
Mandatory investor-state mediation (ISM) as a pre-condition to arbitration is the way forward for rebalancing the investor-state dispute settlement (ISDS) regime and tackling its widely criticised shortcomings. Presenting a comprehensive doctrinal analysis of ISDS clauses of dozens of treaties, this book reveals that simply offering ISM in a voluntary format will not increase its utilisation. In this volume, Ana Ubilava further debunks four common arguments and misconceptions against mandatory ISM through an innovative empirical analysis of over 600 investor-state arbitration cases. She also offers recommendations for incorporating mandatory ISM in ISDS as a precondition to arbitration aimed at international policymakers.
The model law approach to international commercial arbitration: a primer by
"Taking the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration as its basis, this concise and accessible book presents a cutting-edge account of the international arbitral process. Applying a chronological approach, the book will enable readers to gain an understanding of the arbitral process from start to finish.
Overriding Mandatory Rules and Compliance in International Arbitration by 
Post-Award Interest in the Asia-Pacific by
The Yukos Awards are among some of the most widely discussed awards in international arbitration. A remarkable point that does not receive the "interest" it deserves is the fact that post-award interest has added USD 7 billion to the awarded value--making a considerable impact on arguably the biggest case to be handled via international arbitration. Even though post-award interest can have very serious economic consequences, most attention in academic literature to the question of interest is limited to pre-award interest, where the discussion revolves around formulaic approaches towards ensuring that pre-award interest is accounted for in claims for compensation. Post-award interest is either ignored completely or when discussed, there is not enough appreciation of the complex questions (in terms of conflict of law, specific jurisdictional issues, among others) that are central to any reasonable discussion of post-award interest. Responding to the dearth of attention paid to this very serious but often overlooked area, this text provides an in-depth analysis of the subject ensuring comprehensive coverage of all relevant issues in major Asian Pacific and Middle Eastern jurisdictions--arguably the fastest-growing economic regions in the world. The book is structured in a manner where a leading lawyer from a jurisdiction has contributed a chapter providing analysis on all possible questions that a reader may have in relation to post-award interest. The eighteen jurisdictions that have been covered are: Australia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Pakistan, People's Republic of China, the Philippines, the Republic of Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam. Each chapter provides an in-depth analysis of the law on post-award interest, including questions of private international law while simultaneously providing practical guidance on the following questions: power to award post-award interest; determination of applicable rate; procedural questions; public policy issues; and role of national courts. The text is structured in an easy-to-use manner, with each author responding to the same set of questions, making comparative research across jurisdictions very easy and efficient. Parties and counsel involved in arbitral proceedings with a nexus to the jurisdictions covered in this book will find the insights provided valuable and, unquestionably, so will arbitral tribunals. From an academic perspective, this publication is sure to lead to further debate on the topic. Policymakers may also take inspiration from comparing the approach taken in other jurisdictions on matters of post-award interest when refining the legal framework in their home jurisdictions. This book will hopefully contribute to the ongoing efforts to bring about consistency and predictability in the manner in which tribunals deal with damages in general, and post-award interest in particular.
Recognition and enforcement of foreign arbitral awards: a concise guide to the New York convention's uniform regime. by Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration by
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration is an established treatise on the law and practice of international arbitration, the pre-eminent method for the peaceful resolution of disputes in international trade, investment, and commerce. This book serves as an introduction, following the chronology of an arbitration from the drafting of the arbitration agreement right through to the enforcement of the arbitral award. Written by an author team with extensive experience as counsel and abitrators, the book has been read and cited by international lawyers, arbitrators, and judges, and has become a key learning text for teachers, students, and potential arbitrators in colleges and universities across the world. The seventh edition has been significantly revised to incorporate the latest significant developments in the field, includling changes in investor state dispute resolution, leading court decisions on arbitration matters in a wider number of jurisdictions, changes in the 'soft law' of leading international arbitral institutions and of the International Bar Association, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the practice of international arbitration. This shorter, paperback edition does not include the appendices.
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration by
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration is an established treatise on the law and practice of international arbitration, the pre-eminent method for the peaceful resolution of disputes in international trade, investment, and commerce. This book serves as an introduction, following thechronology of an arbitration from the drafting of the arbitration agreement right through to the enforcement of the arbitral award. Written by an author team with extensive experience as counsel and abitrators, the book has been read and cited by international lawyers, arbitrators, and judges, andhas become a key learning text for teachers, students, and potential arbitrators in colleges and universities across the world.The seventh edition has been significantly revised to incorporate the latest significant developments in the field, includling changes in investor state dispute resolution, leading court decisions on arbitration matters in a wider number of jurisdictions, changes in the 'soft law' of leadinginternational arbitral institutions and of the International Bar Association, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the practice of international arbitration.
Schreuer's Commentary on the ICSID Convention by
This unique compendium offers an article-by-article commentary on the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States. Providing a comprehensive explanation of the functioning of this important mechanism for the settlement of investor-State disputes, it incorporates the preparatory work, the Convention's text, various rules and regulations adopted under the Convention, the practice of arbitral tribunals under the Convention, and academic writings on the subject. The first and second editions of this Commentary have been relied upon by numerous arbitral tribunals. This third edition follows the same system and approach, but extensive updates and revisions reflect the vast increase in arbitral practice since the publication of the second edition. A number of novel issues that have emerged through this practice are now addressed, making this practice-oriented guide an indispensable tool for anyone dealing with the ICSID Convention. Likewise, the number of contributors to and editors of the third edition has increased.
Twilight Issues in International Arbitration by
There are many issues of arbitral practice that remain largely unaddressed, or very poorly addressed, in the sources to which tribunals and counsel conventionally turn for procedural guidance: the arbitration agreement, the lex arbitri and rules of procedure. This book brings together the most frequently recurring of such "twilight" issues--so-called because all participants in the arbitral process, when facing them, find themselves "in the dark"--showing in each case where it is best for arbitrators, counsel, and parties to look for solutions offering logic, certainty and predictability. The issues ably covered by the author include, among others, the following: Is a non-signatory bound by or entitled to invoke an arbitration agreement? When may res judicata or collateral estoppel subject? Should a tribunal issue an anti-suit injunction? When may a tribunal treat as mandatory a law other than the chosen one? On what basis may a witness invoke testimonial privilege? When may a tribunal sanction counsel for what it considers misconduct? By what standards is a determination of corruption to be made? How should a tribunal determine the interest rate applicable to an award? On what basis are costs to be allocated? Examining in turn the guidance that may be provided by normative sources--national law (and if so, which one?), simple exercise of good judgment, or "international standards" derived from soft law, arbitral jurisprudence, international law, and scholarly and professional commentary--the analysis clearly shows how, when conventional sources of legal guidance are unavailing, decisions on important matters of arbitral practice and procedure are best made. The book will prove of major relevance and value to any and all stakeholders in the international arbitral process, whether commercial or investor-state.
UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts. an Article-By-Article Commentary by
The Unidroit Principles of International Commercial Contracts provide an excellent and practice-proven tool for cross-border contracts: They constitute a neutral and pragmatic business oriented contractual regime for cross-border contracts They contain multiple solutions to typical contractual questions regarding the life of a contract, often by way of a compromise between civil and common law They have been referenced in hundreds of decisions of arbitral tribunals or national state courts They have been endorsed inter alia by the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (last in 2021) and the Union Internationale des Avocats (2020) bringing together through its bar association and individual members approximately two million lawyers in more than 110 countries. Thirty years after their first publication, it is arguably malpractice to ignore them. In this fully revised and enlarged 2nd edition, the commentary continues to analyse the Unidroit Principles article by article from a practical perspective, while always discussing alternative courses of action, where they apply. The commentary includes proposals for choice of the Unidroit Principles'' clauses and practical guidance for their use as template, or to supplement the CISG or national law. In addition to arbitral and state court decisions and recent literature, the 2nd edition includes an in-depth analysis of extensive legislative material. The author is a German practitioner with international training and familiarity with both common and civil law. He has been admitted to the New York Bar and also teaches at the University of Hamburg as a Professor of Law. The author is using the Unidroit Principles for more than 20 years in his commercial and arbitration practice, in recent years on a daily basis in multiple industries. As he shares his experience under the Unidroit Principles, the commentary can also be used as a practical guide and checklist of issues to consider in international contracting.
