Research Methods and Techniques in Architecture by
A scientific approach to architectural and architectonic research from the scope of just one discipline is no longer sufficient. With contemporary considerations such as behavior, health, and environmental protection, architects and students alike need holistic research methodologies that incorporate qualitative elements as well as more traditional quantitative ones. Research Methods and Techniques in Architectureexamines research methodologies and tools applied in science and architectonic practice. Beginning with a thorough introduction to the main scientific, environmental, and architectural theories of the late twentieth century, the book guides the reader through the different aspects of architectural research design, building research teams, choosing applicable research methods, and representing research results.
Research Methods for Architecture by
While fundamentally a design discipline, architectural education requires an element of history and theory, grouped under the term "research." However, many students struggle with this part of their course. This practical handbook provides the necessary grounding in this subject, addressing essential questions about what research in architecture can be. The first part of the book is a general guide to the fundamentals of how to do research, from assembling a literature review to conducting an interview. The second section presents a selection of case studies dealing with such topics as environmental psychology, the politics of space, ethnographic research, and mapping. The range of methods explored illustrates the variety of possible approaches, with authoritative guidance on how best to deploy a research framework.
Demystifying Architectural Research : Adding Value to Your Practice by
This practical, hands on introduction guides you through the basics of undertaking research in day-to-day architectural practice helping you to exploit the growing opportunities on offer. It explores how developing a research specialism can improve the quality of your projects, help to define your brand and generate new channels of revenue with innovative services for clients. The text is divided into four sections focussing on different types of Architecture Research Practice; commercial, cultural, social and technology. Each section includes a series of inspiring case studies written by practitioners themselves on the way in which research benefits their business as well as an essay by an expert which sets these projects in their methodological context. In this way the book highlights the broad spectrum of research being undertaken and the practical implications for the practice and their projects. This is designed for architects and practices who want to develop a clear specialism that adds brand value and will enable them to access new funding streams as well as students of architecture who are getting to grips with architectural research. This book will inspire cutting edge and innovative architectural practice that can clearly demonstrate its impact and value to non-architect clients.
Architectural Research Methods by
A practical guide to research for architects anddesigners--now updated and expanded! From searching for the best glass to prevent glare todetermining how clients might react to the color choice forrestaurant walls, research is a crucial tool that architects mustmaster in order to effectively address the technical, aesthetic,and behavioral issues that arise in their work. This book's unique coverage of research methods is specificallytargeted to help professional designers and researchers betterconduct and understand research. Part I explores basic researchissues and concepts, and includes chapters on relating theory tomethod and design to research. Part II gives a comprehensivetreatment of specific strategies for investigating built forms. Inall, the book covers seven types of research, including historical,qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation, logicalargumentation, and case studies and mixed methods. Features new to this edition include: Strategies for investigation, practical examples, and resourcesfor additional information A look at current trends and innovations in research Coverage of design studio-based research that shows howstrategies described in the book can be employed in real life A discussion of digital media and online research New and updated examples of research studies A new chapter on the relationship between design andresearch Architectural Research Methods is an essential referencefor architecture students and researchers as well as architects,interior designers, landscape architects, and building productmanufacturers.
Reading Architecture and Culture : Researching Buildings, Spaces, and Documents by
Architecture displays the values involved in its inhabitation, construction, procurement and design. It traces the thinking of the individuals who have participated in it, their relationships, and their involvement in the cultures where they lived and worked. In this way, buildings, their details, and the documents used to make them, can be read closely for cultural insights. Introducing the idea of reading buildings as cultural artefacts, this book presents perceptive readings by eminent writers which demonstrate the power of this approach. The chapters show that close readings of architecture and its materials can test commonplace assumptions, help architects to appreciate the contexts in which they work, and indicate ways to think more astutely about design. The readings collected in this innovative and accessible book address buildings, specifications and photographs. They range in time from the fifteenth century ¿ examining the only surviving drawing made by Leon Battista Alberti ¿ to the recent past ¿ projects completed by Norman Foster in 2006 and Herzog and De Meuron in 2008. They range geographically from France to Puerto Rico to Kazakhstan and they range in fame from buildings celebrated by critics to house extensions and motorway service areas. Taken together, these essays demonstrate important research methods which yield powerful insights for designers, critics and historians, and lessons for students.
Research Methodology in the Built Environment : a Selection of Case Studies by
Built environment students are not always familiar with the range of different research approaches they could be using for their projects. Whether you are undertaking a postgraduate doctoral programme or facing an undergraduate or masters dissertation, this book provides general advice, as well as 13 detailed case studies from 16 universities in 7 countries, to help you get to grips with quantitative and qualitative methods, mixed methods of data collection, action research, and more.
Research Methods for Environmental Psychology by
Covering the full spectrum of methodology, the timely and indispensible Research Methods for Environmental surveys the research and application methods for studying, changing, and improving human attitudes, behaviour and well-being in relation to the physical environment. The first new book covering research methods in environmental psychology in over 25 years. Brings the subject completely up-to-date with coverage of the latest methodology in the field The level of public concern over the impact of the environment on humans is high, making this book timely and of real interest to a fast growing discipline Comprehensively surveys the research and application methods for studying, changing, and improving human attitudes, behavior, and well-being in relation to the physical environment Robert Gifford is internationally recognised as one of the leading individuals in this field, and the contributors include many of the major leaders in the discipline
Using Non-Textual Sources : a Historian's Guide by
Using Non-Textual Sources provides history students with the theoretical background and skills to interpret non-textual sources. It introduces the full range of non-textual sources used by historians and offers practical guidance on how to interpret them and incorporate them into essays and dissertations. In addition to this, the book posits a theoretical framework that justifies the use of these items as historical sources and explains how they can be used to further understand the past. There is coverage of the creation, production and distribution of non-textual sources; the acquisition of skills to 'read' these sources analytically; and the meaning, significance and reliability of these forms of evidence. Using Non-Textual Sources includes a section on interdisciplinary non-textual source work, outlining what historians borrow from disciplines such as art history, archaeology, geography and media studies, as well as a discussion of how to locate these resources online and elsewhere in order to use them in essays and dissertations. Case studies, such as the Tudor religious propaganda painting Edward VI and the Pope, the 1954 John Ford Western The Searchers and the Hereford Mappa Mundi, are employed throughout to illustrate the functions of main source types. Photographs, cartoons, maps, artwork, audio clips, film, places and artifacts are all explored in a text that provides students with a comprehensive, cohesive and practical guide to using non-textual sources.
Design Innovation for the Built Environment by
Today architecture and other fieldsnbsp;in the built environment face the steep task of answering complex questions pertaining to sustainability, performance, and adaptability. How are these disciplines to accomplish these difficult tasks at such an immense pace? How mightnbsp;architectural practice renovate itself accordingly? Worldwide it is becoming increasingly clear that different modes of research are emerging which are triggered directly by the need to renovate practice. One significant prevailing mode is what has come to be known as 'research by design'. This book delivers an overview of this pluralistic domain. Bringing together a range of leading architects, architectural theorists, and designers, it outlines the developments in current practice from leading individuals based in the USA, UK, Australia, Japan and Europe. Edited by a recognized expert, this book exposes the undercurrent of research, which is taking place and how this will contribute to the renovation of architectural practice.
Between Humanities and the Digital by
Scholars from a range of disciplines offer an expansive vision of the intersections between new information technologies and the humanities. Between Humanities and the Digital offers an expansive vision of how the humanities engage with digital and information technology, providing a range of perspectives on a quickly evolving, contested, and exciting field. It documents the multiplicity of ways that humanities scholars have turned increasingly to digital and information technology as both a scholarly tool and a cultural object in need of analysis. The contributors explore the state of the art in digital humanities from varied disciplinary perspectives, offer a sample of digitally inflected work that ranges from an analysis of computational literature to the collaborative development of a "Global Middle Ages" humanities platform, and examine new models for knowledge production and infrastructure. Their contributions show not only that the digital has prompted the humanities to move beyond traditional scholarly horizons, but also that the humanities have pushed the digital to become more than a narrowly technical application. Contributors Ian Bogost, Anne Cong-Huyen, Mats Dahlström, Cathy N. Davidson, Johanna Drucker, Amy E. Earhart, Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Maurizio Forte, Zephyr Frank, David Theo Goldberg, Jennifer González, Jo Guldi, N. Katherine Hayles, Geraldine Heng, Larissa Hjorth, Tim Hutchings, Henry Jenkins, Matthew Kirschenbaum, Cecilia Lindhé, Alan Liu, Elizabeth Losh, Tara McPherson, Chandra Mukerji, Nick Montfort, Jenna Ng, Bethany Nowviskie, Jennie Olofsson, Lisa Parks, Natalie Phillips, Todd Presner, Stephen Rachman, Patricia Seed, Nishant Shah, Ray Siemens, Jentery Sayers, Jonathan Sterne, Patrik Svensson, William G. Thomas III, Whitney Anne Trettien, Michael Widner
Big Data in the Arts and Humanities : Theory and Practice by
As digital technologies occupy a more central role in working and everyday human life, individual and social realities are increasingly constructed and communicated through digital objects, which are progressively replacing and representing physical objects. They are even shaping new forms of virtual reality. This growing digital transformation coupled with technological evolution and the development of computer computation is shaping a cyber society whose working mechanisms are grounded upon the production, deployment, and exploitation of big data. In the arts and humanities, however, the notion of big data is still in its embryonic stage, and only in the last few years, have arts and cultural organizations and institutions, artists, and humanists started to investigate, explore, and experiment with the deployment and exploitation of big data as well as understand the possible forms of collaborations based on it. Big Data in the Arts and Humanities: Theory and Practice explores the meaning, properties, and applications of big data. This book examines therelevance of big data to the arts and humanities, digital humanities, and management of big data with and for the arts and humanities. It explores the reasons and opportunities for the arts and humanities to embrace the big data revolution. The book also delineates managerial implications to successfully shape a mutually bene¿cial partnership between the arts and humanities and the big data- and computational digital-based sciences. Big data and arts and humanities can be likened to the rational and emotional aspects of the human mind. This book attempts to integrate these two aspects of human thought to advance decision-making and to enhance the expression of the best of human life.
Case Studies and the Dissemination of Knowledge by
The case study has proved of enduring interest to all Western societies, particularly in relation to questions of subjectivity and the sexed self. This volume interrogates how case studies have been used by doctors, lawyers, psychoanalysts, and writers to communicate their findings both within the specialist circles of their academic disciplines, and beyond, to wider publics. At the same time, it questions how case studies have been taken up by a range of audiences to refute and dispute academic knowledge. As such, this book engages with case studies as sites of interdisciplinary negotiation, transnational exchange and influence, exploring the effects of forces such as war, migration, and internationalization. Case Studies and the Dissemination of Knowledge challenges the limits of disciplinary-based research in the humanities. The cases examined serve as a means of passage between disciplines, genres, and publics, from law to psychoanalysis, and from auto/biography to modernist fiction. Its chapters scrutinize the case study in order to sharpen understanding of the genre's dynamic role in the construction and dissemination of knowledge within and across disciplinary, temporal, and national boundaries. In doing so, they position the case at the center of cultural and social understandings of the emergence of modern subjectivities.
Digital Humanities and Scholarly Research Trends in the Asia-Pacific by
Digital humanities is a dynamic and emerging field that aspires to enhance traditional research and scholarship through digital media. Although countries around the world are witnessing the widespread adoption of digital humanities, only a small portion of the literature discusses its development in the Asia Pacific region. Digital Humanities and Scholarly Research Trends in the Asia-Pacific provides innovative insights into the development of digital humanities and their ability to facilitate academic exchange and preserve cultural heritage. The content covers challenges including the need to maintain digital humanities momentum in libraries and research communities, to increase international collaboration, to maintain and promote developed digital projects, to deploy and redeploy resources to support research, and to build new skillsets and new professionals in the library. It is designed for librarians, government agencies, industry professionals, academicians, and researchers.
Doing a Literature Review : Releasing the Research Imagination 2nd ed. by
The ultimate guide to the 'what', 'how' and 'why' of literature reviewing, the second edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one′s research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new 'core skills' framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart′s landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Handbook of Arts-Based Research by
Bringing together interdisciplinary leaders in methodology and arts-based research (ABR), this comprehensive handbook explores the synergies between artistic and research practices and addresses issues in designing, implementing, evaluating, and publishing ABR studies. Coverage includes the full range of ABR genres, including those based in literature (such as narrative and poetic inquiry); performance (music, dance, playbuilding); visual arts (drawing and painting, collage, installation art, comics); and audiovisual and multimethod approaches. Each genre is described in detail and brought to life with robust research examples. Team approaches, ethics, and public scholarship are discussed, as are innovative ways that ABR is used within creative arts therapies, psychology, education, sociology, health sciences, business, and other disciplines. The companion website includes selected figures from the book in full color, additional online-only figures, and links to online videos of performance pieces. See also Dr. Leavy's authored book, Method Meets Art, Second Edition, an ideal course text that provides an accessible introduction to ABR.
Mapping Landscapes in Transformation : Multidisciplinary Methods for Historical Analysis by
The development of historical geographical information systems (HGIS) and other methods from the digital humanities have revolutionised historical research on cultural landscapes. One of today's major challenges, however, concerns the concepts and tools to be deployed for mapping processes of transformation?that is, interpreting and imagining the relational complexity of urban and rural landscapes, both in space and in time, at micro- and macro-scale. The opening up of increasingly diverse collections of source material, often incomplete and difficult to interpret, has led to methodologically innovative experiments. Mapping Landscapes in Transformation gathers experts from different disciplines, active in the fields of historical geography, urban and landscape history, and heritage conservation. They are specialised in a wide variety of space?time contexts, including regions within Europe, Asia, and the Americas, and periods from antiquity to the 21st century. Contributors: Karl Beelen (Karlsruhe IT), John Bintliff (Leiden University / Edinburgh University), Bieke Cattoor (TU Delft), Jill Desimini (Harvard University), Cecilia Furlan (TU Delft / KU Leuven), Ian Gregory and Christopher Donaldson (Lancaster University), Joanna Taylor (University of Manchester), Piraye Hacigüzeller, Frank Vermeulen and Devi Taelman (Ghent University), Ralf Vandam and Jeroen Poblome (KU Leuven), Reinout Klaarenbeek (KU Leuven), Sanne Maekelberg (KU Leuven), Steffen Nijhuis (TU Delft), Cristina Purcar (TU Cluj-Napoca), Changxue Shu (KU Leuven, FWO), Bram Vannieuwenhuyze (University of Amsterdam), May Yuan and Arloo McKee (University of Texas, Dallas) Ebook available in Open Access. This publication is GPRC-labeled (Guaranteed Peer Review Content).
Research Methods for the Digital Humanities by
This volume introduces the reader to the wide range of methods that digital humanities employ, and offers a practical guide to the study, interpretation, and presentation of cultural material and practices. In this instance, the editors consider digital humanities to include both the use of computing to understand cultural material in new ways, and the application of theories and methods from the humanities to interpret new technologies. Each chapter provides a step-by-step guide to cutting-edge methodologies so that students can make informed decisions about the methods they use, consider ethical practices, follow practical procedures, and present their work effectively. Readers will develop practical and reflexive understandings of the software and digital devices that they study and use for research, and the book will help new researchers collaborate and contribute to their scholarly communities, and to public discourse. As contemporary humanities work becomes increasingly interdisciplinary, and increasingly permeated by and with digital technologies, this volume helps new researchers navigate an evolving academic environment. Humanities and social sciences students will find this textbook an invaluable resource for assessing and creating digital projects.
Research Methods in Theatre and Performance by
How have theatre and performance research methods and methodologies engaged the expanding diversity of performing arts practices? How can students best combine performance/theatre research approaches in their projects? This book's 29 contributors provide hands-on answers to such questions.Challenging and debating received research wisdom and exploring innovative procedures for rigorous enquiry via archives, technology, practice-as-research, scenography, performer training, applied theatre/performance, body in performance and more, they create a focussed compendium of future researchoptions.
Analysing Quantitative Data for Business and Management Students by
In Analysing Quantitative Data, Charles A. Scherbaum and Kristen M. Shockley guide the reader through Understanding Quantitative Data Analysis, Basic Components of Quantitative Data Analysis, Conducting Quantitative Data Analysis, Examples of Quantitative Data Analysis and Conclusions. An appendix contains Excel Formulas.Ideal for Business and Management students reading for a Master's degree, each book in the series may also serve as reference books for doctoral students and faculty members interested in the method.Part of SAGE's Mastering Business Research Methods Series, conceived and edited by Bill Lee, Mark N. K. Saunders and Vadake K. Narayanan and designed to support researchers by providing in-depth and practical guidance on using a chosen method of data collection or analysis.Watch the editors introduce the Mastering Business Research Methods series
Business Research Methods 9th ed. by
This best-selling text continues in its ninth edition to provide the most current and comprehensive coverage of business research. Its student-friendly design contains numerous examples illustrating real-world research in management, marketing, finance, accounting, and other business areas. BUSINESS RESEARCH METHODS, 9E, International Edition is the ideal text for undergraduate and first year MBA courses in marketing, management, or quantitative studies.
Business Research Methods : an Applied Orientation by
Since research is best learned by doing, this book emphasizes a hands-on, do-it yourself approach. The readers have many opportunities to see how business researches affect and support management decision. The book used a case study approach for all the chapters with interactive videos. The book gave emphasis to quantitative data analysis using a software program, IBM SPSS 20.0. The data analysis chapters illustrate in detail each step in running the software programs. The software programs files are provided for all data sets: outputs, demonstration movies, and screen captures are on the Website. This book provides students most extensive help available to learn quantitative data analysis using SPSS. Thus, the authors prepared this textbook and all the additional materials to help the students to understand the functional principles of business research and how to apply them in real-life situations.
Business Research Reporting by
Business Research Reporting addresses the essential activities of locating, collecting, evaluating, analyzing, interpreting, and reporting business data. It highlights the value of primary and secondary research to making business decisions and solving business problems. It aims to help business managers, MBA candidates, and upper-level college students boost their research skills and report research with confidence. This book discusses primary data collection, sampling concepts, and the use of measurement and scales in preparing instruments. Also, this book explores statistical and non-statistical analysis of qualitative and quantitative data and data interpretation (findings, conclusions, and recommendations). The author shows how to locate, evaluate, and extract secondary data found on the web and in brick-and-mortar libraries, including optimized searching, evaluating, and recording. Plus, the book demonstrates how to avoid copyright infringement and plagiarism, use online citation software, and cite sources when writing and presenting. Two glossaries-one each for primary and secondary research-round out the content. Business Research Reporting can be your go-to guidebook for years to come. Reading through it in a couple of hours, you can pick up ample information to apply instantly. Then keep it handy and refer to it in your ongoing research activities.
Conducting Focus Groups for Business and Management Students by
In Conducting Focus Groups, Caroline J. Oates and Panayiota J. Alevizou explain what is involved in conducting focus groups, outlining their main features, use in research, their design and the kind of rich, qualitative data they facilitate.Ideal for Business and Management students reading for a Master's degree, each book in the series may also serve as reference books for doctoral students and faculty members interested in the method.Part of SAGE's Mastering Business Research Methods, conceived and edited by Bill Lee, Mark N. K. Saunders and Vadake K. Narayanan and designed to support researchers by providing in-depth and practical guidance on using a chosen method of data collection or analysis.Watch the editors introduce the Mastering Business Research Methods series
Conducting Research Interviews for Business and Management Students by
In Conducting Research Interviews, Catherine Cassell guides you through conceptualizing the interview, preparing for the research interview, conducting the interview, examples, conclusions and next steps.Ideal for Business and Management students reading for a Master's degree, each book in the series may also serve as reference books for doctoral students and faculty members interested in the method.Part of SAGE's Mastering Business Research Methods Series, conceived and edited by Bill Lee, Mark N. K. Saunders and Vadake K. Narayanan and designed to support researchers by providing in-depth and practical guidance on using a chosen method of data collection or analysis. Watch the editors introduce the Mastering Business Research Methods series.
A Dictionary of Business Research Methods by
This accessible new dictionary provides clear and authoritative definitions of terms, approaches, and techniques in the area of business research methods. It covers research philosophies including research design and qualitative and quantitative methods, types of data and data collection techniques, and organizing and reporting research finding. Students, academics, and professionals learning about research methods as part of a business degree, and undertaking research in many fields including sociology, psychology, and marketing, will find it useful.
Doing Research in the Business World by
Get 12 months FREE access to an interactive eBook* when you buy the paperback! (Print paperback version only, ISBN 9781473915688) Grounded in actual research and supported by the author's 25 years of experience teaching business and management students, this book is designed especially for students and researchers in business looking to do practical research, and introduces them to the reality of conducting research for the classroom or the boardroom.The reader is guided through each step of the research process including all the tools they need to collect, analyse and present data and are given advice on how to identify, design and complete appropriate projects, enabling them to develop their own research and maximize its impact. Global examples are included throughout from international markets and across the Business and Management discipline. Packed full of learning features and complemented by a free interactive eBook* that includes author video chapter introductions, top tips and skills, real world advice, templates and examples of published research, real world data sets, MCQs, PowerPoint slides, student exercises and journal articles, as well as employability advice and guidance on different types of assessment and dissemination, allowing access on the go and encouraging learning and retention whatever the reading or learning style. Suitable for anyone intending to conduct research in a variety of business contexts such as Management, Marketing, HRM and Organizational Studies *interactivity only available through Vitalsource eBook
Qualitative Methods in Business Research 2nd ed. by
This pragmatic, applied textbook showcases the potential and impact of qualitative research in business and management. Using case studies and a global approach it provides you with an overview of the philosophies, methodologies and methods you will need to research in this field. Demystifying the whole process, it walks you through every aspect of conducting and using research in business, including generating questions, collecting useful data, evaluating the research and disseminating your findings. It also: Explores the challenges of working with qualitative data Introduces qualitative methods including interviews, focus groups & ethnography New to the 2nd edition: The role of digital tools and social media, and how you can use them for data collection 3 new chapters on qualitative content analysis, visual research and publishing research. Praise for the 1st edition: `Comprehensive, current and compelling, a winning combination for any research student or practitioner interested in increasing his/her knowledge about qualitative methods as they apply to business research′ - The Qualitative Report
Research Methods for Business and Management : a Guide to Writing Your Dissertation. 2nd ed. by
This updated and revised edition offers a comprehensive overview of key research methods and the main choices available when undertaking research in business and management. New to this edition is a comprehensive, practical guide on how to write your dissertation - invaluable to all. It is a clear, concise and practical guide containing wealth of outstanding examples for each method covered.Central to this edition is the 'methods map' (chapter 4), which sets out a logical process for researchers to articulate their position in relation to five key aspects of their research philosophy. In addition, the editors have developed a free app to accompany the book and this enables novice researchers to quickly develop a comprehensive justification of their particular research design in an interactive way. Taking you through the entire life cycle of a dissertation, the text covers everything from the purposes of research through to chapters on gathering primary and secondary data; using literature; quantitative and qualitative research; managing your research; using data and research ethics. Individual chapters are allied to a powerful critical commentary showing how some of the world's leading scholars have used particular methods in their own research. Carefully constructed to achieve the greatest clarity for the student the text gives the reader: * In-text exercises * End of chapter' review questions with solutions* Exemplar papers identified and discussed for each of the main methods *Directed further reading for developing understanding in key areas It is an essential learning aid for upper level undergraduates and postgraduates across a wide range of business and management courses and it comes with a range of supported learning materials including tutorials, lecture slides and tutor notes.Kevin O'Gorman is Professor of Management and Business History and Head of Business Management in the School of Languages and Management in Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh. He trained in Glasgow, Salamanca and Rome as a philosopher, theologian and historian. His research interests have a dual focus: Origins, history and cultural practices of hospitality, and philosophical, ethical and cultural underpinnings of contemporary management practices. Using a wide range of methodological approaches he has published over 80 journal articles, books, chapters, and conference papers in business and management studies.Robert MacIntosh is Professor of Strategy and Head of the School of Management and Languages at Heriot-Watt University. He trained as an engineer and has worked at the Universities of Glasgow and Strathclyde. His research on the ways in which top teams develop strategy and on organizational change has been published in a wide range of outlets. He has a long-standing interest in research methods for business and management studies and has published on the relevance of management research using methods that include ethnography and action research. He has consulted extensively with public and private sector organizations and sits on the board of the charity Turning Point Scotland.
Research Methods for Business Students by
Research Methods for Business Students has been fully revised for this 7th Edition and continues to be the market-leading textbook in its field, guiding hundreds of thousands of student researchers to success in their research methods modules, research proposals, projects and dissertations.
Understanding Business Research by
Explore the essential steps for data collection, reporting, and analysis in business research Understanding Business Research offers a comprehensive introduction to the entire process of designing, conducting, interpreting, and reporting findings in the business environment. With an emphasis on the human factor, the book presents a complete set of tools for tackling complex behavioral and social processes that are a part of data collection in industry settings. Utilizing numerous real-world examples throughout, the authors begin by presenting an overview of the research process, outlining key ideas relating to the business environment, ethics, and empirical methods. Quantitative techniques and considerations that are specific to business research, including sampling and the use of assessments, surveys, and objective measures are also introduced. Subsequent chapters outline both common and specialized research designs for business data, including: Correlational Research Single Variable Between-Subjects Research Correlated Groups Designs Qualitative and Mixed-Method Research Between-Subjects Designs Between-Subjects Factorial Designs Research with Categorical Data Each chapter is organized using an accessible, comprehensive pedagogy that ensures a fluid presentation. Case studies showcase the real-world applications of the discussed topics while critical thinking exercises and Knowledge Checks supply questions that allow readers to test their comprehension of the presented material. Numerous graphics illustrate the visual nature of the research, and chapter-end glossaries outline definitions of key terms. In addition, detailed appendices provide a review of basic concepts and the most commonly used statistical tables. Requiring only a basic understanding of statistics, Understanding Business Research is an excellent book for courses on business statistics as well as business and management science research methods at the graduate level. The book is also a valuable resource for practitioners in business, finance, and management science who utilize qualitative and quantitative research methods in their everyday work.
Crafting Your Research Future : a Guide to Successful Master's and Ph.D. Degrees in Science & Engineering by
What is it like to be a researcher or a scientist? For young people, including graduate students and junior faculty members in universities, how can they identify good ideas for research? How do they conduct solid research to verify and realize their new ideas? How can they formulate their ideas and research results into high-quality articles, and publish them in highly competitive journals and conferences? What are effective ways to supervise graduate students so that they can establish themselves quickly in their research careers? In this book, Ling and Yang answer these questions in a step-by-step manner with specific and concrete examples from their first-hand research experience. Table of Contents: Acknowledgments / Preface / Basics of Research / Goals of Ph.D. Research / Getting Started: Finding New Ideas and Organizing Your Plans / Conducting Solid Research / Writing and Publishing Papers / Misconceptions and Tips for Paper Writing / Writing and Defending a Ph.D. Thesis / Life After Ph.D. / Summary / References / Author Biographies
Design Tools and Methods in Industrial Engineering [electronic resource] : Proceedings of the International Conference on Design Tools and Methods in Industrial Engineering, ADM 2019, September 9–10, 2019, Modena, Italy by
This book reports on cutting-edge design methods and tools in industrial engineering, advanced findings in mechanics and material science, and relevant technological applications. Topics span from geometric modelling tools to applications of virtual/augmented reality, from interactive design to ergonomics, human factors research and reverse engineering. Further topics include integrated design and optimization methods, as well as experimental validation techniques for product, processes and systems development, such as additive manufacturing technologies. This book is based on the International Conference on Design Tools and Methods in Industrial Engineering, ADM 2019, held on September 9–10, 2019, in Modena, Italy, and organized by the Italian Association of Design Methods and Tools for Industrial Engineering, and the Department of Engineering “Enzo Ferrari” of the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy. It provides academics and professionals with a timely overview and extensive information on trends and technologies in industrial design and manufacturing.
Engineering Materials : Applied Research and Evaluation Methods by
This book covers many important aspects of applied research and evaluation methods in chemical engineering and materials science that are important in chemical technology and in the design of chemical and polymeric products. This book gives readers a deeper understanding of physical and chemical phenomena that occur at surfaces and interfaces. The link between interfacial behavior and the performance of products and chemical processes is important. Helping to fill the gap between theory and practice, this book explains the major concepts of new advances in high-performance materials and their applications. This new book: ¿ Highlights some important areas of current interest in polymer products and chemical processes ¿ Focuses on topics with more advanced methods ¿ Emphasizes precise mathematical development and actual experimental details ¿ Analyzes theories to formulate and prove the physicochemical principles ¿ Provides an up-to-date and thorough exposition of the present state of the art of complex materials
Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers by
Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers, Second Edition, touches many aspects of engineering practice, research, and statistics. The principles of unit operations, transport phenomena, and plant design constitute the focus of chemical engineering in the latter years of the curricula. Experimental methods and instrumentation is the precursor to these subjects. This resource integrates these concepts with statistics and uncertainty analysis to define what is necessary to measure and to control, how precisely and how often. The completely updated second edition is divided into several themes related to data: metrology, notions of statistics, and design of experiments. The book then covers basic principles of sensing devices, with a brand new chapter covering force and mass, followed by pressure, temperature, flow rate, and physico-chemical properties. It continues with chapters that describe how to measure gas and liquid concentrations, how to characterize solids, and finally a new chapter on spectroscopic techniques such as UV/Vis, IR, XRD, XPS, NMR, and XAS. Throughout the book, the author integrates the concepts of uncertainty, along with a historical context and practical examples. A problem solutions manual is available from the author upon request. Includes the basics for 1st and 2nd year chemical engineers, providing a foundation for unit operations and transport phenomena Features many practical examples Offers exercises for students at the end of each chapter Includes up-to-date detailed drawings and photos of equipment
Integrating Research and Practice in Software Engineering by
In this book, the authors highlight recent findings that hold the potential to improve software products or development processes; in addition, they help readers understand new concepts and technologies, and to see what it takes to migrate from old to new platforms. Some of the authors have spent most of their careers in industry, working at the frontiers of practice-based innovation, and are at the same time prominent researchers who have made significant academic contributions. Others work together with industry to test, in industrial settings, the methods they’ve developed in the lab. The choice of subject and authors represent the key elements of this book. Its respective chapters cover a wide range of topics, from cloud computing to agile development, applications of data science methods, re-engineering of aging applications into modern ones, and business and requirements engineering. Taken together, they offer a valuable asset for practitioners and researchers alike.
Methods in Research and Development of Biomedical Devices by
This book presents a road map for applying the stages in conceptualization, evaluation, and testing of biomedical devices in a systematic order of approach, leading to solutions for medical problems within a well-deserved safety limit. The issues discussed will pave the way for understanding the preliminary concepts used in modern biomedical device engineering, which include medical imaging, computational fluid dynamics, finite element analysis, particle image velocimetry, and rapid prototyping. This book would undoubtedly be of use to biomedical engineers, medical doctors, radiologists, and any other professionals related to the research and development of devices for health care.
Quantitative Methods of Data Analysis for the Physical Sciences and Engineering by
This book provides thorough and comprehensive coverage of most of the new and important quantitative methods of data analysis for graduate students and practitioners. In recent years, data analysis methods have exploded alongside advanced computing power, and it is critical to understand such methods to get the most out of data, and to extract signal from noise. The book excels in explaining difficult concepts through simple explanations and detailed explanatory illustrations. Most unique is the focus on confidence limits for power spectra and their proper interpretation, something rare or completely missing in other books. Likewise, there is a thorough discussion of how to assess uncertainty via use of Expectancy, and the easy to apply and understand Bootstrap method. The book is written so that descriptions of each method are as self-contained as possible. Many examples are presented to clarify interpretations, as are user tips in highlighted boxes.
Research Methodologies, Innovations, and Philosophies in Software Systems Engineering and Information Systems by
"This book aims to advance scientific knowledge on research approaches used in systems engineering, software engineering, and information systems and to update,integrate, disperse and valuable knowledge on research approaches"--
Research Methods for Engineers by
Learn how to plan for success with this hands-on guide to conducting high-quality engineering research. Plan and implement your next project for maximum impact: step-by-step instructions cover every stage in engineering research, from the identification of an appropriate research topic through to the successful presentation of results. Improve your research outcomes: discover essential tools and methods for producing high-quality, rigorous research, including statistical analysis, survey design, and optimisation techniques. Research with purpose and direction: clear explanations, real-world examples, and over 50 customisable end-of-chapter exercises, all written with the practical and ethical considerations of engineering in mind. A unique engineering perspective: written especially for engineers, and relevant across all engineering disciplines, this is the ideal book for graduate students, undergraduates, and new academics looking to launch their research careers.
Statistical Inference for Engineers and Data Scientists by
This book is a mathematically accessible and up-to-date introduction to the tools needed to address modern inference problems in engineering and data science, ideal for graduate students taking courses on statistical inference and detection and estimation, and an invaluable reference for researchers and professionals. With a wealth of illustrations and examples to explain the key features of the theory and to connect with real-world applications, additional material to explore more advanced concepts, and numerous end-of-chapter problems to test the reader's knowledge, this textbook is the 'go-to' guide for learning about the core principles of statistical inference and its application in engineering and data science. The password-protected solutions manual and the image gallery from the book are available online.
The following nomenclature of legal research methodologies may be referred to in Research Methods in Law, 2nd Ed by Watkin & Burton (Routledge, 2018). This is the set text for NUS Law PhD students taking the module LC6009 Graduate Research Seminar. The split between doctrinal and non-doctrinal methods is a contestable framework based on Ishwara Bhat's Idea and Methods of Legal Research (OUP, 2020).
| Doctrinal | Non-Doctrinal |
|
Doctrinal Research "Research which provides a systematic exposition of the rules governing a particular legal category, analyses the relationship between rules, explains areas of difficulty and, perhaps, predicts future developments." (Pearce, Campbell & Harding, 1987) Doctrinal research "takes an insider's view of the law ... to critically determine 'what the law is'." (Hutchinson, 2018) |
Socio-legal Studies An "approach to the law and legal processes" which "... covers the theoretical and empirical analysis of law as a social phenomenon." (Economic and Social Research Council, 1994) It encompasses a diverse range of scholarship carried out under its name, such as feminist work and critical legal studies. |
|
Philosophical Research in Law "Philosophical research in law takes place in two spheres: first, at the general level, where theoretical discussion is conducted as part of the final levels of reasoning in the matter of a particular law; and the second, when exclusive jurisprudential inquiry probes into the deeper theoretical aspects of the nature of law, legal system, and legal concepts, and approaches." (Bhat, 2020) |
Empirical Legal Research As a subset of socio-legal studies, empirical research refers to the "study of law, legal processes and legal phenomena using social research methods, such as interviews, observations or questionnaires." (Burton, 2018) |
|
Legal History/Historical Method "Internal legal history is the study of legal doctrine and of its processes ... External legal history examines the law in context ... Internal history may be described as the history of law but external legal history encroaches onto the political, intellectual and social realm in ways that make it difficult to distinguish from general historiography." (Handler, 2018) |
Critical Legal Method Critical Legal Studies "has been influenced by a variety of currents in contemporary radical social theory, but does not reflect any agreed upon set of political tenets or methodological approaches." (Kennedy & Klare, 1994) A 'critical legal method', if there is such a thing, critiques all modes of production for legal knowledge, including itself (Minkkinen, 2018). |
|
Comparative Study of Law Comparative law allows one to "critically illuminate a legal system." "The aim must be to try to define the frame of perception and understanding of a legal community so as to explicate how a community thinks about the law and why it thinks about the law in the way it does." (Legrand, 1996) |
Feminist Approach to Law and Legal Process "Aligned under the banner of modern feminism are a diversity of perspectives regarding the causes and consequences of unequal gender power relations, the ways in which the law and state have played a role in their creation and maintenance, and the most effective strategies for their eradication." (Munro, 2018) |
|
Economic Analysis of Law "Ways in which economic theory and insight can help resolve issues of legal decision-making by providing both a methodology for the analysis of the legal reality, and a normative framework and workable criteria to favour some alternatives over others." (Sanchez-Graells, 2018) |
Research Methods in Law, 2nd Ed by
Explaining in clear terms some of the main methodological approaches to legal research, the chapters in this edited collection are written by specialists in their fields, researching in a variety of jurisdictions. Covering a range of topics from Feminist Approaches to Law and Economics, each contributor addresses the topic of ¿lay decision makers in the legal system¿ from their particular methodological perspective, explaining how they would approach the issue and discussing the suitability of their particular method. This focus on one main topic allows the reader to draw comparisons between methods with relative ease. The broad range of contributors makes Research Methods in Law well suited to an international audience, and it is ideal reading for PhD students in law, undergraduate dissertation students in law, LL.M Research students and early year researchers.
Idea and Methods of Legal Research by
The book unearths the way in which thinking process is to be streamlined in research; the manner in which a theme is to be built, and the paths through which notions of objectivity, feminism, ethics and purposive character of knowledge are to be internalized in legal research. The proposed book has five components. The first part deals with general matters such as meaning, evolution, and scope of legal research; systematization of thinking process ; objectivity and ethics in legal research; and building a theme through an appropriate research plan. The second part engages with various ways through which doctrinal legal research can be conducted. This includes doctrinal, analytical, historical, comparative, and philosophical methods of conducting legal research. Part Three unravels discussion on non-doctrinal legal research by highlighting empirical, qualitative, and quantitative methods of legal research. It also catalogues the tools employed for non-doctrinal legal research and explains the method of using them. Part four takes to the fields where combination of doctrinal and non-doctrinal legal research can be attempted. Multi-method legal research, policy research, action research, and feminist legal research occupy this field. A point emphasized in various chapters is that legal research cannot afford to have compartmentalization of methods, and that the researcher has to be eclectic and inter-disciplinary in his approach. The final part reflects over the steps involved in research-based critical legal writing, as distinct from client-related or norm-creating legal writing.
Methodologies of Legal Research : Which Kind of Method for What Kind of Discipline? by
Until quite recently questions about methodology in legal research have been largely confined to understanding the role of doctrinal research as a scholarly discipline. In turn this has involved asking questions not only about coverage but, fundamentally, questions about the identity of the discipline. Is it (mainly) descriptive, hermeneutical, or normative? Should it also be explanatory? Legal scholarship has been torn between, on the one hand, grasping the expanding reality of law and its context, and, on the other, reducing this complex whole to manageable proportions. The purely internal analysis of a legal system, isolated from any societal context, remains an option, and is still seen in the approach of the French academy, but as law aims at ordering society and influencing human behaviour, this approach is felt by many scholars to be insufficient. Consequently many attempts have been made to conceive legal research differently. Social scientific and comparative approaches have proven fruitful. However, does the introduction of other approaches leave merely a residue of 'legal doctrine', to which pockets of social sciences can be added, or should legal doctrine be merged with the social sciences? What would such a broad interdisciplinary field look like and what would its methods be? This book is an attempt to answer some of these questions.
An Introduction to Empirical Legal Research by
Is the death penalty a more effective deterrent than lengthy prison sentences? Does a judge's gender influence their decisions? Do independent judiciaries promote economic freedom? Answering such questions requires empirical evidence, and arguments based on empirical research have become aneveryday part of legal practice, scholarship, and teaching. In litigation judges are confronted with empirical evidence in cases ranging from bankruptcy and taxation to criminal law and environmental infringement. In academia researchers are increasingly turning to sophisticated empirical methods toassess and challenge fundamental assumptions about the law.As empirical methods impact on traditional legal scholarship and practice, new forms of education are needed for today's lawyers. All lawyers asked to present or assess empirical arguments need to understand the fundamental principles of social science methodology that underpin sound empiricalresearch. An Introduction to Empirical Legal Research introduces that methodology in a legal context, explaining how empirical analysis can inform legal arguments; how lawyers can set about framing empirical questions, conducting empirical research, analysing data, and presenting or evaluating theresults. The fundamentals of understanding quantitative and qualitative data, statistical models, and the structure of empirical arguments are explained in a way accessible to lawyers with or without formal training in statistics.Written by two of the world's leading experts in empirical legal analysis, drawing on years of experience in training lawyers in empirical methods, An Introduction to Empirical Legal Research will be an invaluable primer for all students, academics, or practising lawyers coming to empirical research- whether they are embarking themselves on an empirical research project, or engaging with empirical arguments in their field of study, research, or practice.
Empirical Methods in Law, 2nd Ed by
Empirical Methods in Law brings the basic principles and concepts of social-science research to the desks of law students and lawyers who expect to work with data experts. Now available in a second edition, the updated text continues its focus on explaining basic principles and concepts in an intuitive style requiring no prior knowledge of math or statistics. The text also continues its emphasis on the importance of research design as well as statistical methods. Among the features of the second edition: * Available in softcover and competitively priced, making the book accessible either as a principal course text or as a supplemental text * A significantly streamlined book without loss of important content or topics from the first edition * An extensive online set of resources: Teachers Manual, PowerPoint slides, problems, example datasets, bibliography, glossary of terms * A detailed index that allows readers to quickly identify coverage of specific topics * Broad perspectives from three authors from three different methodological traditions that results in a presentation of general best practices * Generous use of examples from the legal world that show how empirical techniques are applied in a range of substantive legal areas * Coverage of topics often overlooked in the research process such as data coding or communication of results * Sidebars with in-depth treatment of specific topics
Empirical Legal Research in Action : Reflections on Methods and their Applications by
Empirical legal research is a growing field of academic expertise, yet lawyers are not always familiar with the possibilities and limitations of the available methods. Empirical Legal Research in Action presents readers with first-hand experiences of empirical research on law and legal issues.The chapters, written by an international cast of scholars, reflect on the methods that they have applied in their own empirical work, spanning a wide breadth of research from psychological experiments in personal injury to field studies in sociology and political science. Empirical Legal Research in Action not only reviews the advantages, limitations and challenges that such methods pose but also considers the value of empirical research to lawyers and the law. Vitally, the contributions offer an academic reflection on methodological challenges, as well as the relevance, of empirical research for lawyers.This insightful book will be useful reading for academic researchers in law and for policymakers seeking to understand the methodological challenges of empirical work in legal research. Social sciences scholars will also find this book of interest to appreciate the multitude of methods in empirical legal research.
Conducting Law and Society Research by
Through interviews with many of the most noteworthy authors in law and society, Conducting Law and Society Research takes students and scholars behind the scenes of empirical scholarship, showing the messy reality of research methods. The challenges and the uncertainties, so often missing from research methods textbooks, are revealed in candid detail. These accessible and revealing conversations about the lived reality of classic projects will be a source of encouragement and inspiration to those embarking on empirical research, ranging across the full array of disciplines that contribute to law and society. For all of the ambiguities and challenges to the social 'scientific' study of law, the reflections found in this book - collectively capturing a portrait of the field through the window of the research efforts - individually remind readers that 'good research' displays not an absence of problems, but the care taken in negotiating them.
Theory and Method in Socio-Legal Research by
Socio-legal researchers increasingly recognise the need to employ a wide variety of methods in studying law and legal phenomena, and the need to be informed by an understanding of debates about theory and method in mainstream social science. The papers in this volume illustrate how a range of topics, including EU law, ombudsmen, judges, lawyers, Shariah Councils and the quality assurance industry can be researched from a socio-legal perspective. The objective of the collection is to show how different methods can be used in researching law and legal phenomena, how methodological issues and debates in sociology are relevant to the study of law, and the importance of the debate between "structural" and "action" traditions in researching law. It also approaches the methodological problem of how sociology of law can address the content of legal practice from a variety of perspectives and discusses the relationship between pure and applied research. The editors provide a critical introduction to each of the six sections, and a general introduction on law, sociology and method. The collection will provide an invaluable resource for socio-legal researchers, law school researchers and postgraduates.
Click to browse more titles relating to legal research and methodology in:
Designing Clinical Research. 4th ed. by
Designing Clinical Research has been extensively revised and continues to set the standard as a practical guide for doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and other health professionals involved in all forms of clinical, translational, and public health research. It presents advanced epidemiologic concepts in a reader-friendly way, and suggests common sense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing. New to this edition: Expanded and updated content in every chapter, with new material on: * non-inferiority trials for comparative effectiveness research * incidence-density case-control studies * confounding and effect modification * diagnostic test studies to inform prediction rules * ethical aspects of whole genome sequencing * automated data management approaches * new NIH grant-writing requirements Color format, and Electronic access, powered by Inkling(tm) as a free companion to the text * viewable through your browser or as a download to tablet or smartphone * the complete text with optimized navigation * note-sharing, highlighting and bookmarking capability * cross-linking of references and content * rapid search options linked to the new glossary
Foundations of Clinical Research. 3rd ed. by
Draw upon the foundations necessary for finding and interpreting research evidence across all healthcare professions. Revised to reflect the most current changes in the field of clinical research in rehabilitation and medicine, you'll find a growing emphasis on evidence-based practice (EBP) as well as new vocabulary that is being integrated into research and practice across disciplines.
How to Design, Analyse and Report Cluster Randomised Trials in Medicine and Health Related Research by
A complete guide to understanding cluster randomised trials Written by two researchers with extensive experience in the field, this book presents a complete guide to the design, analysis and reporting of cluster randomised trials. It spans a wide range of applications: trials in developing countries, trials in primary care, trials in the health services. A key feature is the use of R code and code from other popular packages to plan and analyse cluster trials, using data from actual trials.nbsp; The book contains clear technical descriptions of the models used, and considers in detail the ethics involved in such trials and the problems in planning them. For readers and students who do not intend to run a trial but wish to be a critical reader of the literature, there are sections on the CONSORT statement, and exercises in reading published trials. Written in a clear, accessible style Features real examples taken from the authors' extensive practitioner experience of designing and analysing clinical trials Demonstrates the use of R, Stata and SPSS for statistical analysis Includes computer code so the reader can replicate all the analyses Discusses neglected areas such as ethics and practical issues in running cluster randomised trials How to Design, Analyse and Report Cluster Randomised Trials in Medicine and Health Related Research provides an excellent reference tool and can be read with profit by statisticians, health services researchers, systematic reviewers and critical readers of cluster randomised trials.
Interpreting Biomedical Science by
Interpreting Biomedical Science: Experiment, Evidence, and Belief discusses what can go wrong in biological science, providing an unbiased view and cohesive understanding of scientific methods, statistics, data interpretation, and scientific ethics that are illustrated with practical examples and real-life applications. Casting a wide net, the reader is exposed to scientific problems and solutions through informed perspectives from history, philosophy, sociology, and the social psychology of science. The book shows the differences and similarities between disciplines and different eras and illustrates the concept that while sound methodology is necessary for the progress of science, we cannot succeed without a right culture of doing things. Features theoretical concepts accompanied by examples from biological literature Contains an introduction to various methods, with an emphasis on statistical hypothesis testing Presents a clear argument that ties the motivations and ethics of individual scientists to the success of their science Provides recommendations on how to safeguard against scientific misconduct, fraud, and retractions Arms young scientists with practical knowledge that they can use every day
Introduction to Research Methodology for Specialists and Trainees. 3rd ed. by
Health-centred research has changed hugely over the last ten years, from the importance of computing software to the NHS becoming more involved in research. The expectations of grant-awarding bodies, ethics committees and publishers have evolved and increased in many senses. This new edition is designed for trainee clinicians, not only those preparing for membership of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (MRCOG) but also higher degree candidates and aspiring clinical academics. Chapter authors with extensive expertise make the path to embarking on research direct, straightforward and most importantly, fun and interesting, particularly aiming to support those who trained clinically and are now undertaking a research project or beginning an academic career. There remains no single book with so much relevant information gathered in a single, succinct volume. This edition now covers the wide spectrum of modern research methods for all specialities, with five supplementary chapters on major obstetric and gynaecological subspecialties.
Planning Your Research and How to Write It by
This book is a practical guide for residents and young researchers who are planning to embark on research. It details the significant planning one must first do including choosing a suitable experienced clinician as a supervisor, sourcing for a 'winning idea' with significant clinical impact, performing a proper review of literature, defining clearly the objectives to be set and adopting the appropriate methodology. Statistical evaluation must be done from the start of the research to define adequate sample size and also for evaluation of the results. It also advises how one should draw upon relevant and appropriate conclusions from the results obtained.The ethics of research is also discussed. An all-important factor in research is the procurement of research grants. Readers are guided how to write a proper research proposal to secure these much needed grants.Many research papers end up as presentations only in local or international conferences. An important additional objective of this book is to guide young researchers how to write their finished product -- as a publication in an important international, refereed journal or as a thesis. Chapters have been specially written with tips for scientific writing, selecting the right journal, writing for an original article for a journal, a review article, a case report as well as for a thesis. Tips are also written on what reviewers of a journal look for in an article as well as what examiners look for in a thesis.
Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise by
The last two decades have witnessed a proliferation of qualitative research in sport and exercise. The Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise is the first book to offer an in-depth survey of established and emerging qualitative methods, from conceptual first principles to practice and process. Written and edited by a team of world-leading researchers, and some of the best emerging talents, the book introduces a range of research traditions within which qualitative researchers work. It explores the different methods used to collect and analyse data, offering rationales for why each method might be chosen and guidance on how to employ each technique successfully. It also introduces important contemporary debates and goes further than any other book in exploring new methods, concepts, and future directions, such as sensory research, digital research, visual methods, and how qualitative research can generate impact. Cutting-edge, timely and comprehensive, the Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise is an essential reference for any student or scholar using qualitative methods in sport and exercise-related research.
Scientific Integrity : Text and Cases in Responsible Conduct of Research 4th ed. by
This widely adopted textbook provides the essential content and skill-building tools for teaching the responsible conduct of scientific research. Scientific Integrity covers the breadth of concerns faced by scientists: protection of animal and human experimental subjects, scientific publication, intellectual property, conflict of interest, collaboration, record keeping, mentoring, and the social and ethical responsibilities of scientists. Learning activities and resources designed to elucidate the principles of Scientific Integrity include Dozens of highly relevant, interactive case studies for discussion in class or online Numerous print and online resources covering the newest research guidelines, regulations, mandates and policies Discussion questions, role-playing exercises, and survey tools to promote critical thought Documents including published rules of conduct, sample experimentation protocols, and patent applications The new edition of Scientific Integrity responds to significant recent changes--new mandates, policies, laws, and other developments--in the field of responsible conduct of research. Dr. Macrina plants the seeds of awareness of existing, changing, and emerging standards in scientific conduct and provides the tools to promote critical thinking in the use of that information. Scientific Integrity is the original turnkey text to guide the next generations of scientists as well as practicing researchers in the essential skills and approaches for the responsible conduct of science.
Understanding and Conducting Research in the Health Sciences by
A comprehensive introduction to behavioral and social science research methods in the health sciences Understanding and Conducting Research in the Health Sciences is designed to develop and facilitate the ability to conduct research and understand the practical value of designing, conducting, interpreting, and reporting behavioral and social science research findings in the health science and medical fields. The book provides complete coverage of the process behind these research methods, including information-gathering, decision formation, and results presentation. Examining the application of behavioral and social science research methodologies within the health sciences, the book focuses on implementing and developing relevant research questions, collecting and managing data, and communicating various research perspectives. An essential book for readers looking to possess an understanding of all aspects of conducting research in the health science field, Understanding and Conducting Research in the Health Sciences features: Various research designs that are appropriate for use in the health sciences, including single-participant, multi-group, longitudinal, correlational, and experimental designs Step-by-step coverage of single-factor and multifactor studies as well as single-subject and nonexperimental methods Accessible chapter explanations, real-world examples, and numerous illustrations throughout Guidance regarding how to write about research within the formatting styles of the American Medical Association and the American Psychological Association The book is an excellent educational resource for healthcare and health service practitioners and researchers who are interested in conducting and understanding behavioral and social science research done within the health sciences arena. The book is also a useful resource for students taking courses in the fields of medicine, public health, epidemiology, biostatistics, and the health sciences.
Data Analysis Techniques for Physical Scientists by
A comprehensive guide to data analysis techniques for physical scientists, providing a valuable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, as well as seasoned researchers. The book begins with an extensive discussion of the foundational concepts and methods of probability and statistics under both the frequentist and Bayesian interpretations of probability. It next presents basic concepts and techniques used for measurements of particle production cross-sections, correlation functions, and particle identification. Much attention is devoted to notions of statistical and systematic errors, beginning with intuitive discussions and progressively introducing the more formal concepts of confidence intervals, credible range, and hypothesis testing. The book also includes an in-depth discussion of the methods used to unfold or correct data for instrumental effects associated with measurement and process noise as well as particle and event losses, before ending with a presentation of elementary Monte Carlo techniques.
Laboratory Statistics : Methods in Chemistry and Health Science by
Laboratory Statistics: Methods in Chemistry and Health Science, Second Edition, presents common strategies for comparing and evaluating numerical laboratory data. In particular, the text deals with the type of data and problems that laboratory scientists and students in analytical chemistry, clinical chemistry, epidemiology, and clinical research face on a daily basis. This book takes the mystery out of statistics and provides simple, hands-on instructions in the format of everyday formulas. Spreadsheet shortcuts and functions are included, along with many simple worked examples. This book is a must-have guide to applied statistics in the lab that will result in improved experimental design and analysis. This thoroughly revised second edition includes several new sections, more examples, and all formulas in Excel code. Provides comprehensive coverage of simple statistical concepts Familiarizes the reader with formatted statistical expression Presents simple, worked examples that make formulas easy to apply Includes spreadsheet functions that demonstrate how to find immediate solutions to common problems
Quantitative Methods of Data Analysis for the Physical Sciences and Engineering by
This book provides thorough and comprehensive coverage of most of the new and important quantitative methods of data analysis for graduate students and practitioners. In recent years, data analysis methods have exploded alongside advanced computing power, and it is critical to understand such methods to get the most out of data, and to extract signal from noise. The book excels in explaining difficult concepts through simple explanations and detailed explanatory illustrations. Most unique is the focus on confidence limits for power spectra and their proper interpretation, something rare or completely missing in other books. Likewise, there is a thorough discussion of how to assess uncertainty via use of Expectancy, and the easy to apply and understand Bootstrap method. The book is written so that descriptions of each method are as self-contained as possible. Many examples are presented to clarify interpretations, as are user tips in highlighted boxes.
Research Methods for the Biosciences. 2nd ed. by
Scientific research is the ultimate tool in pushing forward the limit of our understanding. But, as with any tool, research is only powerful if used properly, and to its full effect.Research Methods in the Biosciences demystifies the process of research to equip every biosciences student with the skills they need to get the most out of their investigations. Research isn't solely about experimental design; the book leads them through all the factors that, together, enableeffective research. These include planning your experiment; data collection, analysis, interpretation, and reporting; and legal, ethical, and health and safety considerations.Research Methods for the Biosciences brings together the knowledge and skills required of every good researcher as a coherent whole, making it the essential resource for any biosciences student.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Research Methods for the Biosciences constitutes a totally flexible teaching and learning package, keyed directly to the text, featuring interactive tasks and exercises for both formative and summative assessment, and additional reference materials for bothstudent and lecturer.For students:* Statistical software walkthroughs for SPSS, Excel, and minitab* Complete details of calculations given in boxes* Interactive and printable decision tree, to aid in deigning your experiment* Interactive and printable risk assessment form* Integrative exercises based on published and unpublished student work* Weblinks* Hyperlinked glossaryFor lecturers:* A test bank of questions* Figures from the book available to download
Design Science Research by
Consolidating existing knowledge in Design Science, this book proposes a new research method to aid the exploration of design and problem solving within business, science and technology. It seeks to overcome a dichotomy that exists in the field between theory and practice to enable researches to find solutions to problems, rather than focusing on the explanation and exploration of the problems themselves. Currently, researches concentrate on to describing, exploring, explaining and predicting phenomena, and little attention is devoted to prescribing solutions. Herbert Simon proposes the need to develop a Science of the Artificial (Design Science), arguing that our reality is much more artificial than natural. However, the research conducted on the Design Science premises has so far been scattered and erratic in different fields of research, such as management, systems information and engineering. This book aims to address this issue by bringing these fields together and emphasising the need for solutions. This book provides a valuable resource to students and researchers of research methods, information systems, management and management science, and production and operations management.
Research Methodology by
A guide to research and how it is conducted, covering every facet of the research process: finding and defining a suitable problem; performing literature surveys; conducting the research; analyzing the results; and reporting the findings. A particular feature of the book is its concentration on South Africa, in contrast to the European or North American focus. While the research process may be the same in all countries, the system of universities and technikons, funding bodies and the country's needs are different. Examples and case studies used are therefore relevant to the South African reader.
ACS guide to scholarly communication [electronic resource]
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. The new Guide covers all instructions from previous editions of The ACS Style Guide - completely updated and modernized - as well as a wealth of brand new chapters covering everything from preprints, Open Access, machine-readable data, and much more.
Bit by Bit : Social Research in the Digital Age by
An innovative and accessible guide to doing social research in the digital age In just the past several years, we have witnessed the birth and rapid spread of social media, mobile phones, and numerous other digital marvels. In addition to changing how we live, these tools enable us to collect and process data about human behavior on a scale never before imaginable, offering entirely new approaches to core questions about social behavior. Bit by Bit is the key to unlocking these powerful methods--a landmark book that will fundamentally change how the next generation of social scientists and data scientists explores the world around us. Bit by Bit is the essential guide to mastering the key principles of doing social research in this fast-evolving digital age. In this comprehensive yet accessible book, Matthew Salganik explains how the digital revolution is transforming how social scientists observe behavior, ask questions, run experiments, and engage in mass collaborations. He provides a wealth of real-world examples throughout and also lays out a principles-based approach to handling ethical challenges. Bit by Bit is an invaluable resource for social scientists who want to harness the research potential of big data and a must-read for data scientists interested in applying the lessons of social science to tomorrow's technologies. Illustrates important ideas with examples of outstanding research Combines ideas from social science and data science in an accessible style and without jargon Goes beyond the analysis of "found" data to discuss the collection of "designed" data such as surveys, experiments, and mass collaboration Features an entire chapter on ethics Includes extensive suggestions for further reading and activities for the classroom or self-study
Doing Research in the Real World. 4th ed. by
This helpful book takes a pragmatic, real-world approach to research methods that gives readers the tools and confidence to carry out their own research in and out of the classroom. Expertly weaving quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods together, it encourages readers to be open-minded in choosing the most appropriate methods for their projects. Featuring a full set of updated and integrated digital resources, as well as three new chapters on visual methods, qualitative data analysis with NVivo, and digital research, the new Fourth Edition remains on the forefront of practical, applied research and guides readers through every step of the research process from start to finish. Brimming with checklists, interdisciplinary examples, and tips about navigating the realities of planning a project, collecting and analyzing data, and sharing research findings, Doing Research in the Real World is still the companion for any student undertaking a research project.
From Methodology to Methods in Human Psychology by
This Brief aims to provide a theoretically innovative introduction to the methodology of the human sciences. It presents a new version of methodology, as a system of mutually linked acts of creating knowledge where both abstract and concrete features of research are intricately intertwined. It shows how the constructions of particular methods that are used in the science of psychology are interdependent with general psychology. This is exemplified as the Methodology Cycle. The need for an emphasis on the Methodology Cycle grows out of the habitual presentation of methods as if they were independent from the assumptions which they are built upon, with the ultimate goal of searching for and creating universal principles. Chapters discuss the Methodology Cycle and its uses in various areas of empirical study in psychological functions. Featured topics in this Brief include: The strict separation between methodology and methods. Introspection, the primary method of psychology. Extrospection, the act of introspection turned outwards. Generalization and its effect on uniqueness. From Methodology to Methods in Human Psychology will be of interest to psychologists, undergraduate and graduate students, and researchers.
Formal Modeling in Social Science by
A formal model in the social sciences builds explanations when it structures the reasoning underlying a theoretical argument, opens venues for controlled experimentation, and can lead to hypotheses. Yet more importantly, models evaluate theory, build theory, and enhance conjectures. Formal Modeling in Social Science addresses the varied helpful roles of formal models and goes further to take up more fundamental considerations of epistemology and methodology. The authors integrate the exposition of the epistemology and the methodology of modeling and argue that these two reinforce each other. They illustrate the process of designing an original model suited to the puzzle at hand, using multiple methods in diverse substantive areas of inquiry. The authors also emphasize the crucial, though underappreciated, role of a narrative in the progression from theory to model. Transparency of assumptions and steps in a model means that any analyst will reach equivalent predictions whenever she replicates the argument. Hence, models enable theoretical replication, essential in the accumulation of knowledge. Formal Modeling in Social Science speaks to scholars in different career stages and disciplines and with varying expertise in modeling.
Methodological Thinking : Basic Principles of Social Research Design by
Focused on the underlying logic behind social research, Methodological Thinking: Basic Principles of Social Research Design encourages readers to understand research methods as a way of thinking. The book provides a concise overview of the basic principles of social research, including the characteristics of research questions, the importance of literature reviews, variations in data generation techniques, and sampling. The Second Edition includes a revised chapter on research foundations, with focus on the philosophy of science and ethics; an emphasis on critical thinking; additional attention to evaluating research; and a new selection of briefer, multidisciplinary journal articles designed to be accessible to a wide variety of readers.
The Process of Social Research by
Featuring a conversational, engaging, and student-friendly writing style, The Process of Social Research, Second Edition, introduces students to the fundamentals of research. It places a unique emphasis on process with flowcharts in every chapter that provide step-by-step guides for conducting social research and evaluating the research of others. Authors Jeffrey C. Dixon, Royce A. Singleton, Jr., and Bruce C. Straits use relatable, everyday examples and carefully selected research examples to make the book accessible to undergraduates. Comprehensive and up-to-date without attempting to be encyclopedic in its coverage, The Process of Social Research provides a balance between qualitative and quantitative research, taking a more integrated approach to describing the relationship between theory and research.
Process-Tracing Methods: Foundations and Guidelines by
Process-tracing in social science is a method for studying causal mechanisms linking causes with outcomes. This enables the researcher to make strong inferences about how a cause (or set of causes) contributes to producing an outcome. In this extensively revised and updated edition, Derek Beach and Rasmus Brun Pedersen introduce a refined definition of process-tracing, differentiating it into four distinct variants and explaining the applications and limitations of each. The authors develop the underlying logic of process-tracing, including how one should understand causal mechanisms and how Bayesian logic enables strong within-case inferences. They provide instructions for identifying the variant of process-tracing most appropriate for the research question at hand and a set of guidelines for each stage of the research process.
Research Design : Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches. 5th ed. by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Research Methods for the Behavioral Sciences by
Undergraduate students of psychology.
Research Methods: the Basics by
Research Methods: The Basicsis an accessible, user-friendly introduction to the different aspects of research theory, methods and practice. Structured in two parts, the first covering the nature of knowledge and the reasons for research, and the second the specific methods used to carry out effective research, this book covers: Structuring and planning a research project The ethical issues involved in research Different types of data and data quality Analysing and organising data to draw sound conclusions Writing up and displaying data in effective ways @text:Complete with a glossary of key terms and guides to further reading, this book is an essential text for anyone coming to research for the first time, and is widely relevant across the social sciences and humanities.
Social Research : Paradigms in Action by
This unique book explains the central role that research paradigms play in the design and conduct of social research. The authors argue that social research should not just describe or confirm a social problem but should seek to find an explanation for it - and to do so requires research with 'eyes philosophically wide open'. Important philosophical and practice elements of three widely recognized paradigms - Neo-Positive, Interpretive and Critical Realist - are carefully elaborated and their use in action illustrated with detailed examples. The authors show that the philosophical assumptions of a chosen paradigm must match those embedded in a characterization of a research problem and its context. This paradigm orientation is shown to be fundamental to appropriately framing a problem, formulating research questions, deciding on a logic of inquiry and selecting and using methods to investigate it. Ultimately, an appropriate paradigm orientation to social research provides a dispassionate, rigorous and effective basis for the production of new social scientific knowledge. Following on from Blaikie's Approaches to Social Enquiry and Designing Social Research, this innovative book will be invaluable to upper-level and research students, their lecturers and supervisors, and researchers across the social sciences.
|
|
Click on the links below for resources on research methods available from selected open repositories:
Refine search results!
At the results page, refine the search results by applying unique filters provided by individual repositories. The following are examples of filters from the MERLOT Collection:
Other Filters -- Has peer reviews, Has user ratings, Has a Creative Commons License, Has course ePortfolios, Has learning exercise..
More on Open Educational Resources (OER)
Business Research Methods by
"Students will learn how to design, conduct and analyze research for making informed business decisions. The course will focus on basic methodologies, qualitative and quantitative methods, data sources, reliability, validity, and other measurement issues, data collection and research design, ethics in research, and report writing and presentation".
Applied Public Policy Research Methods by
This course will study research methods, research strategies, and statistical analysis skills necessary to both produce and critically analyze research reports and data compilations used in forming public policy.
Social Work Research by
ailable in the iTunes U app on iPhone or iPad.
Course Description
This self paced class is created as a review of basic research knowledge for social workers and as a supplement to current social work students in research classes. The class is based on our BSW Advanced Research Methods course. The class reviews basic research knowledge for qualitative and quantitative approaches, explores single subject design and examines program evaluation. Further the class examines quantitative and qualitative data analysis.
Marketing Research by
This course will provide students with an overview of qualitative and quantitative marketing research methods. Students will identify and apply appropriate research methods to support evidence-based decision-making.