Skip to Main Content
Banner Image

International and Comparative Law: Databases

Sources of international law

Open Access Databases

A selection of open access databases that provide links to full text cases, legislation, treaties and other documents relating to international law are listing below. For specific treaty databases, refer to the page on Treaties and International Conventions:

Asian Law Online
Bibliographic database of Asian law materials (in the English language), including books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. Maintained by the Asian Law Centre, Melbourne Law School.

CIL Document Database
Database administered by the Centre for International Law (National University of Singapore) containing over 600 ASEAN and 300 international law and policy documents in areas relevant to CIL’s research.

CISG Database
Collaborative effort between the Pace Law School Institute of International Commercial Law and Pace Law Library. The database provides a comprehensive global collection of legal materials on the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods.

CISG-Online
Another excellent database providing links to exhaustive resources relating to the CISG.  This platform is developed and maintained by Prof Dr. Ulrich G. Schroeter and his team at the Faculty of Law, University of Basel (Switzerland).

CML CMI Database
Database of judicial decisions on international maritime conventions. Project undertaken and hosted by the Centre for Maritime Law (National University of Singapore) in collaboration with Comité Maritime International.

EUR-Lex
Portal to European Union Law. This system contains the Official Journal of the European Union as well as EU treaties, legislation and case law.

HUDOC Database
Access to the case-law of the Court (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments and decisions, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions).

ICC Legal Tools Database
Database maintained by the International Criminal Court containing various documents relating to international criminal law including court documents, legal instruments and cases. See also the ICC Case Law Database.

International Humanitarian Law Databases
Three databases containing IHL-related resources set up by the International Committee of the Red Cross which users can search collectively or individually:

Jus Mundi
Search engine for open access international law and arbitration resources.

Language of Peace
Database "provides easy access to compare and collate language on key issues across 75,000+ provisions of around 1,000 peace agreements".

Lexisitus
Contains case law and preparatory works relating to the Rome Statute. Its structure is based on the Statute of the International Criminal Court. Database managed by the Centre for International Law Research and Policy.

Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS)
Online database of UN documents that has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. It also contains scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.

OHCHR Databases
Links to the various human rights-related databases managed by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Refworld 
Database of legal resources relating to refugees. Maintained by UNHCR.

United Nations Treaty Collection
Access to the United Nations Treaty Series and Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General.

WorldLII
Access to laws from various jurisdictions around the world.

Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Su-Lin Lee
Contact:
C J Koh Law Library
+65 6601 7105
llbleesl@nus.edu.sg
Subjects: Law