LibGuides: International and Comparative Law: International Organisations

Organisations by type

Council of Europe
International organisation founded in the wake of World War II to uphold human rights, democracy, and the rule of law in Europe. It is Europe's leading human rights organisation. The text of all Council of Europe treaties, their explanatory reports as well as the status of signatures and ratifications are available here.
International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
Institution devoted to international investment dispute settlement. Website contains ICSID documents and cases.
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
Contains incoterms rules and model contracts as well as information on dispute resolution.
ICC Digital Library
more... less...

Subscribed to by NUS Libraries
International Labour Organization (ILO)
Full texts of international labour standards and ILO reports.
International Law Commission (ILC)
Documentation and various reports relating to the work of the Commission.
International Maritime Organization (IMO)
IMO conventions and status thereto as well as an Index of IMO resolutions.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Access to IMF publications, including working papers, policy papers and country reports.
United Nations
Comprehensive information on the work of the United Nations. Access to UN documents and publications.
United Nations Human Rights (Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights)
Leading UN entity on human rights.
United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
UNCITRAL adopted texts, such as conventions and model laws, and their status. Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT) is also available here.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
Various publications, including flagship reports, available in full text.
United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA)
Treaties and principles on international space law as well as reports of the organisation.
United Nations Security Council (UNSC)
Resolutions adopted by the Security Council and information on sanctions imposed by the Council.
The World Bank
World Bank documents and reports.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Valuable resources include WIPO-administered treaties and the WIPO Lex database. Information on the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) system.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
Official documents of the WTO's councils, committees and working groups as well as legal texts of WTO agreements. Information on various trade topics.
WorldTradeLaw.net
more... less...

Subscribed to by NUS Libraries

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
Homepage of the APEC Secretariat. Information about the organisation and free access to selected APEC publications, including reports and proceedings.
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
Maintained by the ASEAN Secretariat. Information on the work of Association, including the ASEAN Charter.
The Commonwealth
Political association of 56 member countries, mostly former territories of the British Empire.
Europa
Portal of the European Union, a political and economic union of 27 member states.
Council of the European Union
Court of Justice of the European Union (CVRIA)
European Commission
European Ombudsman
European Parliament
EUR-Lex
EUR-Lex is the portal to European Union Law. This system contains the Official Journal of the European Union as well as EU treaties, legislation and case law.
European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
The legal texts and various other publications of EFTA are made available by the Secretariat.
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
Access to official NATO texts, including the basic texts of the Alliance and standardization agreements.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Documents including working papers, guidelines and best practices for areas under the OECD's purview are available here.

A. Advocacy Groups

Amnesty InternationaI
Non-governmental organisation focused on human rights. The work of Amnesty International is enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Amnesty International produces reports and news releases searchable by country and by topic.
Human Rights Watch
International, non-governmental organisation that conducts research and advocacy on human rights.
International Committee of the Red Cross
Access to resources relating to international humanitarian law, including the IHL databases.

B. Education and Research

The Hague Academy of International Law
Centre for education in public and private international law housed in the Peace Palace in The Hague, The Netherlands. Well known for its Collected Courses (Recueil de cours)
Hague Academy Collected Courses Online (Recueil des cours)
Institut de Droit International
Organisation devoted to the study and development of international law, and is generally considered the most authoritative world academy of international law.
International Law Association (ILA)
The ILA has consultative status, as an international non-governmental organisation, with a number of the UN specialised agencies. Useful documents include study group reports and reports of its Committees.
Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law
Legal research institute operated by the Max Planck Society and located in Heidelberg, Germany. Important publications include the MPIL Research Paper Series.