Blended Learning in Information Literacy

NUS Libraries Subscribed Sources

What can you find?

How to Use?

HSTalks

Henry Stewart Talks Ltd (HSTalks) is a leading provider of specially prepared, animated, online, audio-visual lectures, seminar-style talks and case studies for medical schools, business schools, universities and commercial enterprises in over 60 countries around the world.

Based in London, UK, HSTalks publishes two highly regarded collections (The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection and The Business & Management Collection).

• The video used in the Nursing and Allied Health Guide to highlight the librarians role in conducting a Systematic Review.

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) 

JoVE provides videos on new research methods in a quick and systematic way. Recommend student to watch before conducting a laboratory experiment. 

*Library subscribes to only: General; Neuroscience; Immunology and infection; Medicine, issue 35 (Jan. 2010) onwards; Bioengineering, issue 46 (Dec. 2010) onwards; Engineering, issue 65 (July 2012) onwards; and Chemistry, issue 72 (Feb. 2013) onwards.

• Example, one of the Science modules introduces students to a protein in the blood called Limulus Amebocyte Lysate (LAL). It is used by pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturers. 

“Using the Horseshoe Crab, Limulus Polyphemus, in Vision Research” can be embedded to encourage discussion:https://www-jove-com.libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/embed/player?id=1384&t=1&s=1&fpv=1

Naxos video library

The world's leading performing arts distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances - operas, ballets, concerts, dances, documentaries and many more.

• Example, modules require students to study of how the literary and performance traditions associated with Shakespeare's work may want to watch videos for follow-up discussion
• "William Shakespeare: King Lear (Studio Production, 1982)" can be found in https://nus-naxosvideolibrary-com.libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/title/B005DVD

Medical imaging in video by Alexandra Street 

The following video databases can be accessed via .alexanderstreet.com platform:

• Meet the Press
• 60 minutes 1997-2014
• Art and architecture in video
• Asian film online
• Filmakers library online

Medical Imaging in Video gives students and practitioners a clear, direct way to observe highly technical imaging procedures before practicing them in a clinical setting.

Content comes from the foremost accredited content partners in the field, including Gulfcoast Ultrasound, Lightbox Radiology Technology, and Blue Chip LLC, which ensures all materials are reliable, authoritative, and designed for applied learning.

• Module content includes radiography and sonography, radiation therapy, equipment, patient communication etc may want to include pre-reading videos for explanation before class.
• For example, this video "Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia: Lower Extremity Nerve Blocks" :https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/ultrasound-guided-regional-anesthesia-lower-extremity-nerve-blocks?account_id=13876&usage_group_id=97565 incorporates live lectures that combine animations and video case studies, for a comprehensive discussion of ultrasound-guided lower extremity regional anesthesia procedures.

Sage video

It covers 11 broad subject disciplines, four distinctive research methods fields and a wider range of subject areas within and between these disciplines.

• Business & Management
• Counselling and Psychotherapy
• Criminology & Criminal Justice
• Education
• Geography, Earth & Environment Science
• Health & Social Care
• Leadership
• Media, Communication & Cultural studies
• Politics and International Relations; Psychology
• Social Work
• Sociology

• For example, this video can be used to discuss the ethics and challenges of counselling and psychotherapy research.
• John McLeod, an Emeritus Professor of Counselling at the University of Abertay Dundee and Professor of Counselling and Psychotherapy, IICP College, Dublin, explains that research has moved from a quantitative model to a greater concern with outcomes.: "John McLeod Discusses Evidence Based Practice/Counselling and Psychotherapy Research": https://sk-sagepub-com.libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/video/john-mcleod-discusses-evidence-based-practice-counseling-and-psychotherapy-research

SAGE Research Methods Video

SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. 

• Core Skills for New Researchers: How to Do a Literature Review in 10 Easy
• This video had been used for PR4196 as pre-reading to let students know how to do lit review and searching is important to find good articles, citations etc). In-class activities such as to search for relevant and high quality paper for the assignment has been incorporated to enhance learning.