Books
Your Human Geography Dissertation by
An undergraduate dissertation is your opportunity to engage with geographical research, first-hand. Yet, completing a student project can be a stressful and complex process. Your Human Geography Dissertation: Designing, Doing, Delivering organizes the project into three helpful stages: Designing: Deciding on your approach, your topic, and your research question, while also ensuring your project is feasible Doing: Situating your research and selecting the best methods for your dissertation project Delivering: Dealing with data and writing up your findings With information and task boxes, soundbites offering student insight and guidance, and links to online materials, this essential guide offers a complete and accessible overview of the key skills needed to prepare, research, and write a successful human geography dissertation.
How to Do Your Dissertation in Geography and Related Disciplines. 3rd ed. by
This book provides undergraduates with a step-by-step guide to successfully carrying out an independent research project or dissertation. The book addresses each stage of the project by answering the questions that a student is likely to ask as the work progresses from choosing the subject area and planning the data collection through to producing illustrations and writing the final report. Most undergraduates in geography and related disciplines are required to undertake individual projects as part of their degree course; this book is a source of constructive, practical advice. This new third edition continues the tradition of friendly, well-informed but informal support, and continues to focus on answering the specific questions that students typically ask at each stage of the project. The new edition brings the text completely up to date by taking into account changes within the discipline and changes in the ways that students work. New digital media, social networking, mobile technology, e-journals, anti-plagiarism software, ethics approval rules and risk assessments are among the issues that this new edition takes into account. The new edition also broadens the book's appeal by extending its coverage of the wide range of different approaches to geographical research, with expanded coverage of qualitative research, Geographic Information Systems, and new approaches to research design in both physical and human geographies
Conducting Research in Human Geography by
Reading this book is your first step to becoming a competent human geography researcher. Whether you are a novice needing practical help for your first piece of research or a professional in search of an accessible guide to best practice, Conducting Research in Human Geography is a unique and indispensable book to have at hand. The book provides a broad overview of theoretical underpinnings in contemporary human geography and links these with the main research methodologies currently being used. It is designed to guide the user through the complete research process, whether it be a one day field study or a large project, from the nurturing of ideas and development of a proposal, to the design of an enquiry, the generation and analysis of data, to the drawing of conclusions and the presentation of findings.
Methods in Human Geography : a Guide for Students Doing a Research Project. 2nd ed. by
Doing a research project is quite different to most other components of a conventional taught course of study and, for many students, becomes one of the highlights of the course. In an environment in which both university research and teaching are increasingly scrutinised for quality, it has been repeatedly recognised that good research is strongly linked with good teaching, and that the opportunity to conduct individual research should be a central aspect of contemporary geographical education. Undertaking a research project can develop and exercise many of the key skills that are to be gained from the study of geography. Undoubtedly, some of the best teachers and lecturers in geography are motivated and excited about the subject through their own individual research activities.
Qualitative Research Methods in Human Geography. 4th ed. by
Now in its fourth edition, Qualitative Research Methods in Human Geography continues to offer a practical, in-depth guide to understanding and conducting qualitative research in human geography. Featuring contributions from leading Canadian, American, and international experts in the field,this revised and expanded new edition provides a diverse array of engaging examples that illustrate the real-world application of qualitative research techniques.
Book Chapters
Gatrell J.D., Bierly G.D., Jensen R.R. (2012) Research Questions. In: Research Design and Proposal Writing in Spatial Science. Springer, Dordrecht, pp 25-34.
Books
Developing Effective Research Proposals by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy. This is your step-by-step guide to success with your research proposal. The new Third Edition covers every section of the proposal, telling you all you need to know on how to structure it, bring rigor to your methods section, impress your readers, and get your proposal accepted. Developing Effective Research Proposals provides an authoritative and accessible guide for anyone tackling a research proposal. It is perfect for students in education, nursing, health, and across the social sciences.
Developing Research Proposals by
Writing a research proposal is one of the most important tasks facing academics, researchers and graduate students. Yet there is a good deal of misinformation and a great lack of guidance about what constitutes a good research proposal and what can be done to maximize one's chances of writing a successful research proposal.Pam Denicolo and Lucinda Becker recognize the importance of developing an effective research proposal for gaining either a place on a research degree program or funding to support research projects and set out to explore the main factors that that proposal writers need to attend to in developing successful proposals of their own. Developing Research Proposals will help readers to understand the context within which their proposal will be read, what the reviewers are looking for and will be influenced by, while also supporting the development of relevant skills through advice and practical activities.This book: Explores the nature and purpose of different kinds of proposalsFocuses on the actual research proposed Discusses how best to carry out and structure the literature reviewExamines the posing and phrasing of research questions and hypothesesLooks at how methods and methodology should be handled in a proposalDiscusses the crucial issues of planning, strategy and timing in developing targeted proposalsThe authors draw together the key elements in the process of preparing and submitting a proposal and concludes with advice on responding to the results, successful or not, and their relevance to future proposals.
Articles & Book chapters
Sonja Rewhorn (2018) Writing your successful literature review, Journal of Geography in Higher Education, 42:1, 143-147.
DeLyser, D., & Hawkins, H. (2014). Introduction: writing creatively – process, practice, and product. Cultural Geographies, 21(1), 131-134.
https://doi.org/10.1177/1474474012469006
Harry West, Gemma Malcolm, Sophie Keywood & Jennifer Hill (2019) Writing a successful essay, Journal of Geography in Higher Education, 43:4, 609-617, DOI: 10.1080/03098265.2019.1655720
Sarah L. Holloway & Gill Valentine (2001) Making an Argument: Writing up human geography projects, Journal of Geography in Higher Education, 25:1, 127-132,
DOI: 10.1080/03098260020026688.
Moss, P. (Ed.), Donovan, C. (Ed.). (2017). Writing Intimacy into Feminist Geography. London: Routledge, https://doi-org.libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/10.4324/9781315546186.
Books
Communicating in Geography and the Environmental Sciences. 3rd ed. by
This book was written to provide students with an insight into the expectations of the people for whom they will be writing essays, giving talks and drawing figures, enabling them to prepare better work than might otherwise have been possible.
Making Sense in Geography and Environmental Sciences. 6th ed. by
Part of the bestselling Making Sense series, this sixth edition of Making Sense in Geography and the Environmental Sciences is an indispensable research and writing guide for students in any area of the discipline. Maintaining the signature straightforward style of the series, this fullyupdated edition outlines general principles of style, grammar, and usage, while covering such issues as writing essays and reports, creating powerful visual aids, and properly documenting sources.
Selected Guides
Videos