Skip to main content
Banner Image

Geography: Home

Welcome to the Geography LibGuide

This is your one-stop Library guide to essential resources for research in Geography. Click on the tabs at the top of the page to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover the following resources: 

  • Books, Journals, Databases
    Overview of our FindMore search engine for searching books, journals and databases 
  • Recommended Databases
    Academic databases for searching journal/newspaper articles, book chapters, theses & dissertations, statistics...
  • GIS
    Guide to essential resources for conducting research using spatial analysis and GIS. 
  • ​​Find Full Text
    Set up in Google Scholar, the Find it@NUS Libraries links as well as the Proxy bookmarklet to get full texts from subscribed titles
  • Research & Writing
    Resources on conducting research, writing, developing a research proposal and critiquing research articles
  • Citing
    The importance of citing your sources. Introduction to citation managers (Zotero, EndNote and Mendeley) useful for creating references and bibliographies
  • Open Educational Resources (OER)
    List of textbooks, courseware, videos and other open resources available in the public domain or have been released under an open license.

 Need help?  Ask a Librarian!

Sage Research Methods

The Sage Research Methods is an online platform of resources for doing research or learning how to do research. SRM provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data and writing up the findings.

1. For Materials on Geographical Research Methods Generally:

  1. Go to Sage Research Methods (SRM). 
    Alternatively at the library portal > select Databases tab > enter Sage Research Methods.
  2. At the SRM landing page, select the Advanced Search mode.
  3. At the Advanced Search page, scroll down to the Discipline menu > uncheck All Disciplines box > check the box for Geography
  4. Click Search.

2. For Materials Specific to Your Topic:

To search and browse books, dictionaries, encyclopedia, video, journal articles, cases and datasets on research methods relating to your topic:

  1. Repeat steps 1 to 4 above
  2. At the results page > go to the left panel > you may refine the results further by:
  • Searching within results (e.g waterways)
  • Content Type (e.g. books, journal articles)
  • Results Type
  • Publication Date

srmgeog1

GE3240 Library Session

Resource Librarians

Hayati Abdul's picture
Hayati Abdul
Contact:
NUS Central Library
Phone: +65 66017078

Useful Guides

Any questions?