Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Islamic Law: General Texts and Bibliographies

Guide to Islamic law resources in the C J Koh Law Library as well as open access resources.

Selected Readings

Acknowledgement: We wish to thank Zamiq Azmeer '18 (LL.B. (Hon.) NUS) for his advice and invaluable assistance in providing two titles for this page.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are an excellent starting point for research as they provide a comprehensive reference of resources. They are usually consolidated by an expert in the field, with authoritative and leading recommendations by topic. Some bibliographies also include helpful and concise summaries and commentaries.

For researchers unfamiliar with Islamic law, they are particularly instructive as they can provide references to original Arabic sources and high-quality English translations where available.

Google Books

Google Books provides useful benefits:

  • Able to search within the full-text of books
  • Locate books outside the NUS Libraries collection
Google Book Search

Vernacular Materials

Some resources that could be useful for texts in the original vernacular (e.g. Arabic):

  • Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900): Full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Module 1 contains texts on 'Religion and Law'. These texts were from the former British Museum Library and the India Office Library.

More Books from the Catalogue

Islamic law in the Indian Ocean world: texts, ideas, and practices

Mahmood Kooria and Sanne Ravensbergen
Call Number: KBP69.I45 Isl 2022
ISBN: 9781032015514
Publication Date: Routledge, 2022

Sharia transformations: cultural politics and the rebranding of an Islamic judiciary

Michael G Peletz
Call Number: KA620 Mal.Pe 2020
ISBN: 9780520339927
Publication Date: University of California Press, 2020

Islamic Law in Modern Courts

Haider Ala Hamoudi and Mark Cammack
Call Number: KA615 Ham 2018
ISBN: 9781454830399
Publication Date: Wolters Kluwer, 2018

What Is the Sharia?

Baudoin Dupret ; translated by David Bond
Call Number: KA615 Dup 2018
ISBN: 9781849048170
Publication Date: 2018-05-01

Shari'ah Law : an introduction

Mohammad Hashim Kamali
Call Number: KA615 Kam 2008
ISBN: 9781851685653
Publication Date: Oneworld, 2008-03-17

Islamic Law : critical concepts in Islamic studies

Gavin Picken (Editor)
Call Number: KA615 Isl 2011
ISBN: 9780415470766
Publication Date: Routledge, 2010-11-30

Vol. 1. Origins and sources
Vol. 2. The Genesis of legal theory and the schools of law
Vol. 3. Consolidation and 'stagnation'
Vol. 4. Islamic law in the modern world.

The origins of Islamic law : the Qurʼan, the Muwaṭṭaʼ and Madinan ʻAmal

Yasin Dutton
Call Number: KA615 Dut 2005
ISBN: 9780700716692
Publication Date: Routledge Curzon, 2002-08-30

Islamic Law : cases, authorities and worldview

Ahmad Atif Ahmad
Call Number: KBP144 Ahm 2017
ISBN: 9781474274487
Publication Date: Bloomsbury Academic, 2017-10-05

Ebu's-su'ud : the Islamic legal tradition

Colin Imber
Call Number: BP144 Imb
ISBN: 0748607676
Publication Date: Edinburgh University Press, 1997

Islamic Law in Past and Present

Mathias Rohe; Gwendolin Goldbloom (Translator) 
Format: Ebook
ISBN: 9789004277434
Publication Date: Brill, 2014-12-23

Modern Perspectives on Islamic Law

Ann Black, Hossein Esmaeili & Nadirsyah Hosen
Call Number: Ebook (print: KA615 Bla 2013)
ISBN: 9780857934468
Publication Date: Edward Elgar Pub. Ltd., 2013-06-28

Sharia Compliant : a user's guide to hacking Islamic law

Rumee Ahmed
Call Number: KA615 Ahm 2018
ISBN: 9780804794015
Publication Date: Stanford University Press, 2018-05-01

The politics of Islamic law : local elites, colonial authority, and the making of the Muslim state

Iza R. Hussin
Call Number: KBP144 Hus 2016
ISBN: 9780226323343
Publication Date: The University of Chicago Press, 2016

Research handbook on Islamic law and society

Nadirsyah Hosen
Call Number: KA615 Res 2018
ISBN: 9781781003053
Publication Date: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2018




 

Shi'ism revisited : ijtihad and reformation in contemporary times / Liyakat Takim.

ISBN: 9780197609019 
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2021
ebook