Islamic Law: Web Resources

By Alena Wolotira.
Published by the Law Library associated with the top Law Librarianship MLIS program, this research guide was prepared specifically for Islamic law courses, and highlights the different sources of law and strategic approaches required for Islamic legal research.

By Stephen Wiles & Gayle Fischer.
A research guide by the Librarian for Islamic Law from the Harvard Law School Library. This has an extensive list of resources with detailed descriptors. Of particular note is its helpful list of Islamic law resources by jurisdiction and authoritative introductory texts.

By Elizabeth Wells.
The Bod has compiled a guide with a wide range of resources tailored to the different interests and approaches of Islamic law researchers, ranging from comparative legal traditions to substantive law topics.

By Aslihan Bulut.
This is a well-written guide with concise explanations of the sources of Islam, and the terminology involved in its application.

By Francisca Markx. (Archived)
The Peace Palace Library, based in The Hague, is one of the oldest and most prestigious libraries for international law. Naturally, the strength of this guide lies in its focus of Islamic law in the public international law context, in addition to the standard materials.

By Stephen Wiles and updated by a team of foreign, comparative and international law librarians.
Concise research tool for Islamic family law, domestic relations and personal status. Like Harvard's main Islamic law LibGuide, it maintains a helpful list of sources by jurisdiction.

By Dr. Sia Chin Chin and Ms Suzanna Abdul Hadi
GlobaLex is a series of foreign, international and comparative law research tools published by the NYU School of Law. This guide features authors with several years of experience and expertise in Malaysian Islamic law, who have compiled a comprehensive list of Malaysian Islamic law resources.

Published by the Centre for Islamic and Middle Eastern Law (CIMEL), SOAS School of Law (University of London), the world's leading institution for the study of Islamic law and countries with an Islamic legal system.
It provides links to books and articles, online resources, primary sources and also resources by topic coverage, i.e. Islamic finance and family law.

Published by the University of Ottawa
Provides a taxonomic overview of jurisdictions with the Muslim legal tradition. Also includes a brief bibliography.

Published by Aga Khan University.
This project bridges the gap in scholarship for works outside Europe and North America, and within the Muslim world. In particular, volume 2 of the MCA features scholarly publications from Muslim contexts in the fields of law and sharia.

Published by Jeong Chun Phuoc, GlobaLex.
Presents a general broad-based view on Sharīʿah law as practiced and observed in the ASEAN region.

Islamic Family Law resources by Prof Abdullahi A. An-Na'im, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Law and prominent authority in Islamic Law.

Includes academic papers; primers on the main products adopted by modern Islamic financial institutions with some commentaries; summaries of secular economic theory from various schools of thought; summaries of various common secular financial products.

SHARIAsource is a project in beta of the Program in Islamic Law at Harvard Law School, that aims to provide comprehensive content and context on Islamic law in a way that is accessible and useful.

Islamic Law Online by Melbourne Law School is an online bibliographic database of materials relating to Islamic legal studies. This database was established by the Centre for Indonesian Law, Islam and Society to complement the Asian Law Centre's Asian Law Online.

Digitized collection of the Institute of Islamic Studies, founded by Prof. Wilfred Cantwell Smith in 1952. The online collection currently contains more than 1300 works.

This project by the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes examines both edited and unedited Arabic legal documents. It hosts the"Corpus of Arabic Legal Documents" database, which serves as an excellent source of rare Arabic primary source documents from pre-modern Muslim societies.