Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See: Islamic law in Singapore for more legislation, cases, books etc.
Forms and Precedents
Syariah Court - Forms
Forms and templates from the Syariah Court of Singapore with steps and instructions.
Family and juvenile court practice by
Call Number: KE5089 Sub.Pl 2008
Publication Date: LexisNexis, 2008
A practitioner's text for family law and practice in Singapore, this revised edition includes a chapter on "Family Proceedings Involving Muslims Heard at the Family Court" (Chapter 7).
It provides helpful commentary as well as forms and precedents used for applications. The book will be particularly relevant as it discusses the jurisdictional issues vis-a-vis the civil court and Syariah court. However, it was published in 2008 and there have since been significant reforms to the Family Courts in Singapore, as exemplified by the Family Justice Act 2014.
Syariah Court (SYC) Resources
Law and practice of family law in Singapore by
Call Number: KE5135 Law 2016 (Online version available)
Publication Date: Sweet & Maxwell/Thomson Reuters, 2016
This book provides comprehensive coverage of Family Law in Singapore, and is written by a respected and authoritative team including judicial officers. It includes developments in family law practice, such as the establishment of the Family Justice Courts in 2014.
In particular, Chapter 20 provides an Overview of Syariah Law in Family Matters, including marriage, divorce, ancillary matters and succession.
Family Justice Courts - Enforcement of Syariah Court Orders
Provides a brief summary of the procedures involved in filing a Magistrate’s Complaint in the Family Justice Courts on a breach of an order of the Syariah Court relating to the orders referred to in s 53(2) of the AMLA.
I.R.B. Law LLP - Learning Centre
I.R.B. Law is a Singapore law firm which boasts Singapore’s largest Syariah law practice, advising and representing clients in all aspects of Syariah law, such as wills and inheritance matters and divorce.
Select 'Syariah Law' in the dropdown menu next to the search bar to narrow down to Islamic law resources.
Know the Law Now!
Produced by the Law Society of Singapore to raise legal awareness, this booklet is intended to serve as an easy-to-use, basic introduction to the law in Singapore and an initial reference point on legal issues and where to seek legal help.
Relevant chapters include Chapter 18 - Muslim Divorce and Chapter 32 - Muslim Inheritance Laws, Estate Administration and Estate Planning.
Navigating Muslim law in Singapore by
Call Number: KE5089 Isl.Na 2017
Publication Date: National University of Singapore, 2017
Published by the student leaders in the NUS Syariah Law Forum Organizing Committee, this guidebook covers the following topics:
(1) History and Development of Muslim Law in Singapore;
(2) Jurisdiction of the Syariah Court;
(3) Procedures in the Syariah Court;
(4) Muslim Law: Principles and Substantive Law;
(5) A Comparison: Practising Muslim Law and Civil Law
Legal Institutions and Organisations in Singapore
Syariah Court of Singapore
Constituted under s 34 of AMLA, the Syariah Court of Singapore is a creature of statute and a specialist court created by Parliament to administer legal disputes concerning Muslim personal law as set out in the Act. (Chaytor v. Zaleha A Rahman  1 SLR(R) 504)
It is vested with jurisdiction in Muslim personal law under s 35(2), specifically Muslim matrimonial law (s 52(1)) and Muslim inheritance and succession law (s 115).
Family Justice Courts of Singapore
The Family Justice Courts (FJC) is a collective body of courts which comprise the Family Division of the High Court, the Family Courts and the Youth Courts, established pursuant to the Family Justice Act 2014.
FJC also assists with the enforcement of Syariah Court Orders.
Legal Aid Bureau (Ministry of Law)
Provides legal advice, representations in civil proceedings and legal assistance such as the drafting of wills and deeds of separation. Fees to be contributed are determined by LAB.
Muslim Law Practice Committee (Law Society of Singapore)
Addresses and provides guidance on matters relating to Muslim law practice, provides feedback in public and other consultations on legislative and practice changes in Muslim law practice, and liaises with the Courts and other bodies on Muslim law practice matters.