LibGuides: Islamic Law: Journals

Indexes

Indexes enable researchers to locate articles categorized by topic. A number of legal indexes may helpfully narrow down the search to Islamic Law articles:

HeinOnline Islamic Law
This is not a discrete index, but a collection of articles tagged under the topic 'Islamic Law' within HeinOnline, sorted by latest publications.
Index Islamicus
Index Islamicus Online is the leading international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays. Helpful for finding foreign and civil law periodicals.
Index to Legal Periodicals
Index to Legal Periodicals includes indexing of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, books, book reviews and more. International in coverage, Index to Legal Periodicals includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, and covers an even broader range of subjects, mainly from 1980s onwards.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac is an expanded web-based version of the print Current Law Index. It provides indexing for more than 1,400 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
Westlaw
Contains the title, Legal Journals Index. This indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and its Member States, from 1986.

Specialist Journals

Journals on Islamic Law

For more journals under the library's holdings, browse the Subject Catalog under Islamic law - periodicals.
For more open access journals, you can try law journals under "Islamic law" indexed in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). The Directory of Free Arab Journals (DFAJ): Law also has open access journals in Arabic, published in the Arab World.

Title	Publisher and Coverage	Access
Al-Ahkam	Faculty of Sharia and Law, Walisongo State Islamic University, Indonesian Consortium of Shariah Scholars (KSSI), 2012-	Open Access
Arab law quarterly	Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, 1985-	HeinOnline, Brill Journals
Berkeley journal of Middle Eastern & Islamic law	Berkeley, CA : Berkeley School of Law, 2008-	HeinOnline
Electronic journal of Islamic and Middle Eastern Law	University of Zurich, 2013-	Open Access
Islam, Islamic law & Malay adat (Singapore) 1962-83, 83-2000	NUS Central Library, 1962-2000	PN5449.12 Pcc Press Clippings Collection
Islamic law & law of the Muslim world	New York Law School	SSRN e-Journal
Islamic law and society	E.J. Brill, 1994-	HeinOnline, Brill Journals KA1 ILS
IIUM law journal	International Islamic University, Malaysia,1989-	ABI/INFORM KA1 ILJ
Jernal hukum	Bahagian Ugama, Jabatan Perdana Menteri Malaysia, 1980-	KA1 JH
The journal of Islamic law	Institute for Intercultural Relations, 1996-2004	HeinOnline
The journal of Islamic law & culture	Institute for Intercultural Relations, 2000-	HeinOnline, Taylor & Francis KA1 JILC
Journal of Islamic law studies (in Turkish and Arabic)	Mehir Vakfi, 2009-	EBSCO
Journal of Islamic state practices in international law	ElectronicPublications.org, 2005-	HeinOnline
Jurnal syariah	Fakulti Syariah, Akademi Islam, Universiti Malaya, 1993-	Open Access
Middle East law and governance	Brill, 2009-	HeinOnline, Brill Journals
Syariah law journal	International Islamic University (Malaysian Law Publishers, 1984-87, 1989-91)	KA1 SYLJ
UCLA journal of Islamic and Near Eastern law	UCLA School of Law, 2002-	HeinOnline, EBSCO KA1 UJI
Yearbook of Islamic and Middle Eastern law	Centre of Islamic and Middle Eastern Law at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London (Kluwer Law International, 1995-)	HeinOnline, Brill Journals KA615 YIML

Full-text Databases

Google Scholar

Install the Proxy Bookmarklet for direct access to full-texts of journal articles that are within the NUS Libraries' subscription:

Generalist Journals

Not all Islamic law-related articles will necessarily be published in specialist publications. The following journals are also helpful sources of leading Islamic legal periodicals, especially those dealing in comparative works. Note that these are only a small selection:

Legal Journals:

American journal of comparative law
American Society of Comparative Law, 1952-
Asian journal of comparative law
National University of Singapore, 2006-
Journal of law and religion
Cambridge University Press, 1983-
Journal of law, religion and state
Brill Academic Publishers, 2012-
Oxford journal of law and religion
Oxford University Press, 2012-

Islamic Studies:

Studia Islamica
Brill, 1953-
Journal of Islamic studies
Oxford University Press, 1990-
The Muslim world
Hartford Seminary Foundation, 1911-
Islamic quarterly
Islamic Cultural Centre, 1954-

Theses

ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Index to doctoral dissertations and selected masters theses from 1861 to the present; includes more than 2 million full-text dissertations published since 1997.

Selected Articles

Islamic Law in Singapore

Ahmad Nizam Abbas, Arif A. Jamal, Halijah Mohammad and Jaclyn L. Neo, "Recent Developments in Muslim Law Practice in Singapore" Singapore Law Gazette (March 2019)

Ahmad Nizam bin Abbas, "Custody Issues - Differences and Similarities between Civil and Syariah Courts in Singapore" (2018) 30 Singapore Academy of Law Journal 695

Ahmad Nizam bin Abbas,"The Islamic legal system in Singapore" (2012) 21:1 Pacific Rim Law & Policy Journal 163

Anver M. Emon, "Conceiving Islamic Law in a Pluralist Society: History, Politics and Multicultural Jurisprudence" (2006) Singapore Journal of Legal Studies 331

Arif A Jamal, "ADR and Islamic law: the cases of the UK and Singapore" NUS Law Working Paper 2015/004, May 2015

Arif A Jamal and Daniel Wong Sheng Jie, "A Tale of Two (Diverse) Countries: Religious Diversity in Canada and Singapore" (2019) 20:7 German Law Journal 986

Dominik M. Müller, "Bureaucratic Islam Compared: Classificatory Power and State-ified Religious Meaning-Making in Brunei and Singapore" (2018) 33 Journal of Law & Religion 212

G. W. Bartholomew, "The Application of Shari'a in Singapore" (1964) 13 American Journal of Comparative Law 385

Haemala Thanasegaran and Mohammed Shaiban, "Harmonisation of Takaful (Islamic Insurance) Regulation - A Realistic Goal or Improbable Ideal" (2014) Singapore Journal of Legal Studies 328

Kerstin Steiner, "Governing Islam: The State, the Administration of Muslim Law Act (AMLA) and Islam in Singapore" (2015) 16:1 Australian Journal of Asian Law 1

Kylee R Sargenti, "The Growth of Islamic Banking: A Singaporean Study on the Legal Conflicts of Embracing Shari'ah Law" (2010) 8 Santa Clara Journal of International Law 431

Ledy Mahara Ginting, et al, "Legal and Regulatory Framework of Islamic Banking and Finance: A Study in Singapore" (2020) 6:4 International Journal of Management and Applied Research 232

M. B. Hooker, "The Evolution of Singapore's Common Law Fiqh, 1957-2013" (2016) 17:1 Australian Journal of Asian Law 1

M. B. Hooker, "Introduction: Islamic Law in South-East Asia" (2003) 10:1 Studia Islamika 1

M. B. Hooker, "Muslim Law, Ahmadiyya and Islamic Doctrine in Singapore" (2013) 14:1 Australian Journal of Asian Law 1

M. B. Hooker, "Succession to Muslim Estates in Singapore: Sources of Law and Choice of Law" (2014) 15:2 Australian Journal of Asian Law 1

Mel Andrew Schwing, "The KLRCA-I-arbitration rules: a Shari'a-compliant solution to the problems with Islamic finance dispute resolution in Singapore and Malaysia?" (2017) 34:3 Journal of International Arbitration 425

Mohamed Fatris Bakaram, Theories of iftā’ in Islamic law with special reference to the Shāfi‘ī school of law and their application in contemporary Singapore (Ph.D. thesis, University of Birmingham 2010)

Mohd Yazid Bin Zul Kepli, "Islamic Finance in Singapore: Legal and Regulatory Challenges" (2013) 31 Singapore Law Review 279

Muhammad Haniff Hassan and Sharifah Thuraiya Su'ad Ahmad Alhabshi, "The Training, Appointment, and Supervision of Islamic Judges in Singapore" (2012) 21:1 Pacific Rim Law & Policy Journal 189

Muneer Abduroaf, "Comparing the application of the Islamic law of succession and administration of estates in Singapore and South Africa" (2020) 41 Obiter 122

Nik Hasyila Bte Nik Ibrahim, "The Training, Appointment, and Supervision of Islamic Lawyers in Singapore" (2012) 21:1 Pacific Rim Law & Policy Journal 215

Noor Aisha Binte Abdul Rahman, "Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women and the Prospect of Development of Muslim Personal Law in Singapore" (2014) 34:1 Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs 45

Noor Aisha Binte Abdul Rahman, "Muslim Personal Law and Citizens' Rights: The Case of Singapore" (2012) 7:1 Asian Journal of Comparative Law 1

Noor Aisha Binte Abdul Rahman, "Muslim Personal Laws and the Accommodation of Minorities: The Need to Better Balance Individual Rights and Group Autonomy in Singapore" (2019) 20:7 German Law Journal 1079

Noor Aisha Binte Abdul Rahman, "Muslim Personal Law within the Singapore Legal System: History, Prospects and Challenges" (2009) 29:1 Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs 109

Noor Aisha Binte Abdul Rahman, "Singapore's Muslim law versus Syariah revivalism" 2016:36 ISEAS Perspective

Noor Aisha Binte Abdul Rahman, The Syariah court and the administration of the Muslim law on divorce in Singapore (Ph.D. thesis, National University of Singapore 2000) Call Number: PL5100 *2000 1

Noor Aisha Binte Abdul Rahman, “Traditionalism and its Impact on the Administration of Justice, the Case of the Syariah Court of Singapore” (2004) 5:3 Inter Asia Cultural Studies 415

Raj Joshua Thomas, "Islamic Banking and Finance - Regulatory Regimes in Malaysia and Singapore" (2011) 29 Singapore Law Review 165

Sadali Rasban, Adam Abdullah and Aznan Hasan, "An analysis of residue net estate distribution to bayt al-māl in Singapore" (2020) 12 ISRA International Journal of Islamic Finance 49

Shazny Ramlan, "Religious Law for the Environment: Comparative Islamic Environmental Law in Singapore, Malaysia, and Indonesia" NUS Centre for Asian Legal Studies Working Paper 19/03

Tang Hang Wu, "From Waqf, Ancestor Worship to the Rise of the Global Trust: A History of the use of the Trust as a Vehicle for Wealth Transfer in Singapore" (2018) 103:5 Iowa Law Review 2263

Zamiq Azmeer Bin Borhanudin, "50 Years Since Enacting the Administration of Muslim Law Act: Muslim Law on Polygamy in Singapore" Singapore Academy of Law Journal (published on e-First 24 September 2019)