Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

A guide to doing research on Percussion music: Getting Started

Introduction

This guide introduces you to the online library resources which you can use in order to do a short research paper on percussion music. The example used would be the percussion music of John Cage.

Using the basic steps in the Research Process, it takes you through each step, and shows you how to find relevant information.

Each specific step is addressed in Getting Started below. You can also try out the databases by typing the keyword in the search boxes.

Detailed help on how to use the databases will be explained in the following pages of this guide.

Search for Music Resources

Search Library FAQs

Re-using this guide?

Unless otherwise stated, the contents in this guide to doing research on Percussion music © by National University of Singapore Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0 . Attribute and link back to this LibGuide if you are going to re-use the content.

Getting Started

Finding information on the percussion music of John Cage will be used here to illustrate the research process.

Step 1 : Identifying your topic. As highlighted, the topic identified is that of doing research on the percussion music of John Cage.

Enter your keywords in the search box.

 

Use LINC (NUS Library INtegrated Catalogue) if you know which item you are looking for. Search by specific field(s) such as Title, Author, Keyword or Subject.

 

Step 2 : Searching for information. Databases such as Oxford Music Online, Naxos Music Library, Naxos Video Library, Classical Scores Library and Music Database will be used. How to search each database will be shown in each of the following pages of this guide.

Use Databases to search for information from the different databases.

 

Step 3 : Locating materials. Using the online databases mentioned, information needed on the percussion music of John Cage is searched.

Step 4 : Evaluating the sources of information. This guide will also show you how to evaluate sources of information.

Step 5 :Making notes. Do make notes to help you build on your paper. Take note of the author, title, publisher, URLs and other useful information for your bibliography.

Step 6 : Writing your paper. Organise your ideas and use the notes you have made from the sources of information which you have found. Remember to cite your sources, using the citation style which is required by your lecturer.

Step 7 : Citing sources. The 'Citation' page in this guide will show you how to cite your sources of information. Select your required style.

Step 8 : Proofreading. Finally, read through the paper you have written and check for errors in grammar, spelling or punctuation. Edit your paper accordingly as you proofread.

When you enter your keyword in the search box of the various databases, you would be taken to the Login page and then the Appropriate Use Policy page after you have authenticated.