Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

A guide to doing research on Percussion music: Scholarly Articles

Search for Music resources

Search for Library FAQs

Scholarly Articles

You may wish to find scholarly articles on the percussion music of John Cage as part of your research, and can use Music Database to do so.

Click here to view how to search Music Database. More information on how to access this database from the library portal is given below.

Using Music Database

Click on the 'Databases' tab.

 

Type Music Database in the search box on the page 'Search within Databases'.

Click Campus Login if you are on campus.

If you are at home, select your network domain using the dropdown menu and key in your user ID and password. Then click Login.

You will see the next page ‘Appropriate Use Policy’ which you need to read and agree that the information you access is for your own study and research. You must also agree not to download excessive information due to licensing agreements the Library has with the publishers. Click ‘I accept’ to proceed.

You will see the Music Database home page. Select 'Advanced Search'.

Type 'John Cage' in the search box in the first line and 'percussion' in the search box on the second line. Then click on Search.

If there are too many results, you may want to use the drop-down menu 'Sorted by', limit to 'Full text' or  'Peer reviewed'  or by 'Source type'.

Remember to click Log Out at the top right of the page when you have finished searching the database by clicking 'Exit Proquest'.

Music Database

Music Database

The Music Database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals in the all aspects of music and musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock. Among others, covered topics are: music education , musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture,  popular music forms and composition.