LibGuides: Southeast Asian Studies: Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies Online
Contains citations to Western-language monographs, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Asia published since 1971.

Asia-Studies Full-text Online

Asia-Studies Full-text Online

Asia-Studies Full-text Online is a very useful database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. It brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

Google Scholar

Contemporary Wayang Archives

Contemporary Wayang Archive
The Contemporary Wayang Archive (CWA) is a collection of re-elaborations of Java's oldest performance tradition. All of the performances were recorded in 21st century Java. This archive includes translations, notes and explanations of how the performances were received in their original context.

Web of Science

Web of Science

Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

Jstor

Search Articles in JSTOR

Project Muse

Search Project MUSE®

http://muse.jhu.edu.libproxy1.nus.edu.sg

Theses

ScholarBank@NUS This link opens in a new window
Scholarbank@NUS is the NUS's instituitional repository that contains the Masters and PHD thesis of all NUS graduate students from 2006 onwards.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Database
A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses records from around the world. Where available, the database provides 24 page previews as well as full text of selected documents.

Statistic databases

ASEANStats
Statistics updates on selected key indicators about ASEAN and its Member States
Singapore Statistics
This annotated bibliography aims to help library users identify relevant publications held in the NUS Library and relevant Web sites containing statistical data on Singapore for the period 1965 onwards.
more...less...
This annotated bibliography aims to help library users identify relevant publications held in the NUS Library and relevant Web sites containing statistical data on Singapore for the period 1965 onwards.

The statistical publications are arranged by broad subject categories with annotations based on the latest issue held in the Library at the time of compilation. Only materials containing largely quantitative statistical data are listed while materials with largely qualitative data are excluded. Although the time period covered is from 1965 onwards, some publications containing historical data are included for easy reference.
EIU CountryData
EIU CountryData provides data for 317 series on 150 countries running from 1980 onwards through a powerful, yet intuitive interface. For the 82 most important markets, key variables are additionally projected to 2030 in order to facilitate business planning.
UNdata
As of 1 May 2007, use of the Common Database is free of charge. Produced by the United Nations Statistical Office, it provides access to hundreds of statistical series for all countries and areas of the world. Data coverage: balance of payments, financial statistics, income, consumption and wealth, and national accounts
World Development Indicators
Good source FDI. Offers the World Bank's comprehensive database on development data, covering more than 600 indicators, 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Other Useful Databases

PERIND
Useful index to journal articles, book reviews and chapters, and conference papers relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN. Includes materials not indexed by other databases. Good for Area & Social Studies.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A reputable business information resource that allows searching for timely news articles from major national and international newspapers, trade journals, and wires, including The Wall Street Journal and The Economist.

ASEAN Digital Library
A digital resource where libraries from Singapore, Malaysia, Myanmar and Philippines have come together to digitize key collections.
Expanded Academic ASAP
This database offers a vast collection of indexed and full-text content from various academic journals. Another good starting point for research in the humanities.
neliti : Indonesia's Research Repository
Neliti is a research repository that collects together important Indonesian research that was previously scattered around the web and difficult to find. Through aggregating research in one database, it helps researchers and decision makers in Indonesia find research, data and evidence.