Southeast Asian Studies: Internet Sources

APEC is the primary regional vehicle for promoting open trade and practical economic co-operation. Its goal is to advance Asia-Pacific economic dynamism and sense of community.

ADB is a multilateral development finance institution, headquartered in Manila, dedicated to reducing poverty in Asia and the Pacific.

ASEAN was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on 8 January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Laos and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999. The objectives of ASEAN is to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to promote regional peace and stability.

The Asia Research Institute (ARI) was established as a university-level institute in July 2001 as one of the strategic initiatives of the National University of Singapore (NUS). Its mission is to provide a world-class focus and resource for research on the Asian region, located at one of its communication hubs.

ARI engages the humanities and social sciences broadly defined, and especially interdisciplinary frontiers between and beyond disciplines.

the largest society of its kind, with approximately 7,000 members worldwide—is a scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association open to all persons interested in Asia. Through its publications, online resources, regional conferences, and annual meeting, the AAS provides its members with a unique and invaluable professional network.

A committee of the Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies (AAS), it was established to enhance the collection of Southeast Asia research materials and to assist in making them available to Southeast Asia scholars, faculty, and students nationwide.

CSEAS, formally known as Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University, a pioneer in area studies, was founded in 1963. Since then, the center has come to embrace not only the humanities and social sciences, but also other disciplines such as agronomy, ecology, medicine and the natural sciences. CSEAS combines both field sciences, the humanities and sciences to offer an interdisciplinary joint research center, a unique feature which makes it stand out from other area studies institutions and facilities around the world.

As a result of a great deal of support from many research institutions and academic communities, the Center for Southeast Asian was designated as one of the joint research centers in inter-universities of Japan by the Japanese Ministry of Education, Science and Technology in April, 2010.

The Centre of Southeast Asian Studies was established in 1964, soon after the founding of Monash University, in recognition of the importance of the Southeast Asian region to the university and the expertise of Monash staff in this field.

The center was established in 1963, an outgrowth of the country’s first Peace Corps training program for Southeast Asia volunteers at NIU. Since 1997, the center has been a federally funded National Resource Center for Southeast Asian studies. CSEAS is guided by center staff and an interdisciplinary council of more than thirty faculty associates.

In addition to coordinating Southeast Asian studies on campus, CSEAS also supports community outreach projects and K–16 teacher training on Southeast Asian topics throughout northern Illinois.

Located 65 miles west of Chicago, NIU is a comprehensive undergraduate and graduate university with approximately 25,000 students. For those pursuing an undergraduate minor in Southeast Asian studies or a graduate specialty with a Southeast Asian focus, NIU and CSEAS offer:
* Fellowships and scholarship opportunities
* Language training in Burmese, Indonesian, Khmer, Lao (on demand), Malay, Tagalog, and Thai
* Research opportunities in a variety of disciplines
* Cultural and networking activities
* Extensive study abroad options

With more than 70 faculty members, the Center represents the largest concentration of Southeast Asia specialists in the United States. The Center is one of only eight National Resource Centers for Southeast Asian Studies in the nation. More than 140 language and area courses are regularly offered, with particular strengths in the humanities and social sciences. The Center’s Southeast Asia Working Papers series, established in 1972, now has more than forty titles, while the Center’s Southeast Asia Papers series, established in 2000, has two edited volumes.

Singapore-based regional research centre for scholars and other specialists concerned with modern Southeast Asia and its wider geo-strategic and economic environment.

The International Institute for Asian Studies (IIAS) is a postdoctoral research centre based in Leiden and Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Its objective is to encourage the interdisciplinary and comparative study of Asia and promote national and international cooperation. The institute focuses on the human and social sciences and on their interaction with other sciences.

The KITLV / Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies has specialized in collecting information and advancing research on the present and former Dutch colonies and their surroundings since 1851. Today it is an authoritative research institute focussing on Southeast Asia, in particular Indonesia, and the Caribbean, especially Suriname, the Dutch Antilles and Aruba. Our collections, publications and research encompass the humanities and the social sciences, ranging from colonial history to present-day social issues. KITLV houses sizeable and diverse collections, a leading publishing unit, and changing research projects.

The Southeast Asia Research Centre (SEARC) was inaugurated on 27 February 2001 as a faculty-based research centre within the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (now the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, CHASS). In 2006, it was affiliated with the newly formed Department of Asian and International Studies (AIS). Professor William Case (Department of Asian and International Studies) was appointed Director of SEARC in July 2006.

SEARC has established a strong international reputation as an important setting for the study of political, economic, and social issues in contemporary Southeast Asia. While receiving funding in most years from City University of Hong Kong (CityU), SEARC members have actively sought competitive external grant funding, helping to foster a steady output of high-quality publications and working papers. The Centre has also attracted many respected scholars as visitors who, in carrying out research projects and conducting seminars, have further energized the Centre. And in regularly sponsoring international conferences, workshops, public addresses, and roundtables, SEARC has contributed widely to public debate and intellectual life at CityU.

Online resource for students, scholars and policy-makers interested in South China Sea regional development.

The South East Asia & Pacific section includes publications on South East Asia as a whole (including material on ASEAN, APEC, the Pacific Rim and the Asia-Pacific region) and the individual countries and regions of South East Asia - Brunei, Burma (Myanmar); Cambodia, East Timor; Indonesia (including separate sections on Indonesian provinces); Laos; Malaysia; the Philippines; Singapore; Thailand; Vietnam. The main strengths of the South East Asia collection are in languages, linguistics and literatures; anthropology and ethnic minorities; religion; economics, finance and statistics; development issues; politics and government; law, including customary law; human rights; history and biography; film, the press and media studies.

The Collection includes materials on all the nations of Southeast Asia; the holdings are particularly strong on the countries of Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and Indonesia. The Collection includes monographs, journals, newspapers and government documents totaling well over 110,000 titles. Some of the more specialized resources include:
* The Straits Settlements and British Military Administration records
* Indonesian imprints from the Japanese Occupation and Nationalists periods
* Modern monographs and periodicals selected from Cornell University Library's Echols Collection filmed by the IDC (Inter Documentation Company)
* Indonesian microfiche of the Royal Institute of Linguistics and Anthropology (KITLV) in Leiden, The Netherlands
* United States State Department materials on Southeast Asia
* United States government documents on the Vietnamese Conflict.

The Southeast Asia Collection participates in a cooperative acquistion program administered by the Library of Congress. In addition to the countries noted above, Ohio University has collecting responsibility for the following areas in Indonesia: Bengkulu, Jambi, South Sumatra, East Java, Lampung, and Riau.

The Southeast Asia Collection is especially strong on contemporary publications from Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam. Materials from Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore are received through the Overseas Cooperative Acquisitions Program of the Library of Congress. Recently, Thailand and Vietnam have also been included in the Program.

As a participant in the program, the University of Hawaii has assumed responsibility for collecting local government publications from the East Indonesian provinces of Irian Jaya, Nusa Tenggara and Maluku.

Other special holdings of Southeast Asian materials include the Sino-Vietnamese Collection of the Ecole Francaise d'Extreme-Orient, Hanoi and the Nederlandsche Oost-Indische Compagnie archives on East Indonesia and the Philippines of the 17th and 18th centuries, materials on Javanese and Balinese dances on CD-ROMs, and archival materials on East Timor.

The Southeast Asia Microform Project (SEAM) provides subscribing institutions with better coverage of research materials related to the study of Southeast Asia. SEAM will film or acquire films of such research materials and make them readily available to subscribers to the project.

From the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. Brings together primary and secondary resource, research and teaching materials held by the library and faculty.

In 1977 the Southeast Asia Collection was named in honor of John M. Echols, professor of linguistics and literature in the Southeast Asia Program, who devoted three decades to its development. The Echols Collection has been a joint undertaking of the university, the library, and the Southeast Asia Program with the goal of acquiring a copy of every publication of research value produced in the countries of Southeast Asia and publications about the region published in other parts of the world.

collaborative project of the various library collections on Southeast Asia around the country and others from around the world. Housed at Northern Illinois University Library, the SEADL seeks to increase online access to research material from Southeast Asia.

Access to the world's significant primary materials. The project was the vision of James Billington to provide international and inter-cultural understanding of the world.

Contains images of postcards of colonial Indochina

Digitized posters from Southeast Asia, hosted by University of Hawai'i at Manoa library.

This website is a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library’s John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books and journal articles written in English and French. Along with their narratives, these accounts include some 10,000 images, drawings, photographs, prints and maps, many of them in colour.