Colonial Office (CO) series here refers to the various types of government documents related to the administration & government of the colonies and territories administered directly by the British over Malaya, Singapore, and the Borneo territories. The departments in-charge of foreign and colonial affairs were principally the Colonial Office (CO), Dominions Office (DO), Foreign Office (FO), and Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO). They were created, co-existed, and merged at different times in the history of the United Kingdom government. Other departments, of which records are not listed here, include the military and naval departments (War Office [WO], Air Office [AIR], Admiralty [ADM], Ministry of Defence [DEFE]), and others.
CO Series Part I lists the "Original Correspondence" series. Issues and discussions by authorities that are recorded in these series varies.
CO Series Part II lists the other important sets of government documents. They are the Sessional Papers & Departmental Reports (also known as the Executive & Legislative Council Proceedings); Government Gazettes (official government news); Laws, Acts, & Ordinances; and Statistics (known as Blue Books or Miscellanea).
For assistance in use of these and historical documents prior to these Colonial Office series (e.g. East India Company Records), please contact us.
This page requires Firefox or Chrome to display correctly.
The Kratoksa Index can be found in the hard copy format in the NUS Central Library or as an E-Copy as part of the NUS Library's Digital Gems Collection.
Original Correspondence & Registered File Series from the UK National Archives on British Malaya & Borneo
(Straits Settlements, Singapore, Malay States, Malaya, Brunei, Borneo, Sarawak)
Records originating from the following Departments:
Colonial Office (CO), Foreign Office (FO), Dominions Office (DO), Commonwealth Relations Office (CRO), and
Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO)
Notes:
For a more detailed description of each series (title, content, arrangement, item, files, etc.), you may search UK National Archives Discovery catalogue.
Selected series can be searched with the aid of Kratoska's Index to Colonial Office Files.
Gale State Papers Online Colonial and AM Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia databases allow full-text search of the digitised records they are holding. These subscribed databases are for NUS Staff and Students only.
There will be files/items regarding these territories that are embedded in other series not listed here.
NUS Libraries may have microfilm/microfiche and/or electronic copies (direct scans from National Archives UK or via subscribed databases). However the collection (volumes/items) within any one series may be incomplete for various reasons. Please approach History Resource Team Librarians if you require assistance.
For overview on collections covering the Proceedings of Legislative & Executive Assemblies including Departmental Reports, Government Gazettes, Laws/Ordinances, and Blue Books, please see this page.
Straits Settlements and Singapore
| CO / DO / FO / FCO Series & Title | NUSLib Microfilm | NUSLib E-Resources | NUSLib Subscribed E-Resources | Other / Related References |
| CO 77 : East Indies Original Correspondence, Entry Books, etc 1570 - 1856 |
Microfilm | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 273 : Straits Settlements Original Correspondence 1838 - 1946 |
E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | Kratoska's Index to Colonial Office Files | |
| CO 425 : Straits Settlements Entry Books 1867 - 1873 |
Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 426 : Straits Settlements Register of Correspondence 1867 - 1945 |
Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 486 : Straits Settlements Register of Out-letters 1873 - 1926 |
Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 953 : Singapore Original Correspondence 1936 - 1951 |
E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | Kratoska's Index to Colonial Office Files | |
| CO 1010 : Singapore: Registers of Correspondence 1946 - 1951 |
Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| DO 228 : Commonwealth Relations Office & Successors: S'pore High Commission: Registered Files 1965 - 1971 |
||||
| India Office Records IOR/F/4: Board of Control Records (1784-1858) IOR/G/34: Factory records. Straits Settlements (1769-1830) |
Microfilm | Digital Gems (IOR/L/PS/12) | AM Digital East India Company (IOR/F & IOR/G) |
See this subpage for more info |
| DO118/128 Report of the Singapore Constitutional Conference, 1957 London | E-Resource | |||
| Straits Settlements Records (SSR) | Microfilm & Digital Gems | Index for the SSR |
Malay States / Malaya / Malaysia
| CO / DO / FO / FCO Series & Title | NUSLib Microfilm | NUSLib E-Resources | NUSLib Subscribed E-Resources | Other / Related References |
| CO 717 : Federated Malay States: Original Correspondence 1920 - 1951 |
Microfilm | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | Kratoska's Index to Colonial Office Files |
| CO 786 : Federated Malay States: Register of Correspondence 1919 - 1951 |
Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 889 : Federation of Malaya Constitutional Commission (Reid Commission): Minutes and Papers 1955 |
Microform | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |
| DO 187 : Commonwealth Relations Office and successors: High Commission, Federation of Malaya & Malaysia: Records of the British High Commission 1954 - 1971 |
AM FO Files for South East Asia | |||
| DO 35 : Dominions Office and Commonwealth Relations Office: Original Correspondence. Malaya Dept Subseries (vols 6,258 – 10,048) (mid-1950s to 1960) |
E-Resource | |||
| CO 967 : Colonial Office: Private Office Papers Malaya Subseries. vols 73 – 84 (1,939 to 1,950); 1939 - 1950 Sarawak. CO 967/105; 1949 |
Microfilm | |||
| CO 968 : Colonial Office and Commonwealth Office: Defence Department and successors: Original Correspondence (... defence and security ... including matters of policy and internal security) Malaya Subseries: vol 14/4 – 14/12 & 15/1 1939 - 1967 |
Microfilm | E-Resource |
Mutiple Territories / Others
| CO / DO / FO / FCO Series & Title | NUSLib Microfilm | NUSLib E-Resources | NUSLib Subscribed E-Resources | Other / Related References |
| CO 1008 : Colonial Office: Far Eastern Economic and Supplies Committee: Minutes and Papers | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1008 : Far Eastern Economic and Supplies Committee: Minutes and Papers | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 1017 : Colonial Office and successors: Colonial Service Division, later Overseas Service Division: Registered Files (CSA, CSB, OSA and BCD Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1022 : South East Asia Department: Original Correspondence | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | Kratoska's Index to Colonial Office Files | |
| CO 1026 : Colonial Office: Legal Department: Registered Files (LEG Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1027 : Colonial Office: Information Department: Registered Files (INF Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1028 : Colonial Office: Students Department, later Students Branch: Registered Files (STU Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1029 : Colonial Office: Production and Marketing Department: Registered Files: (PMD Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1030 : Far Eastern Department and Successors: Original Correspondence | Microform | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | Kratoska's Index to Colonial Office Files |
| CO 1030 : Far Eastern Department and successors: Original Correspondence | Microform | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |
| CO 1032 : Colonial Office and Commonwealth Office: Defence and General Department and successors: Registered Files, General Colonial Policy (GEN Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1034 : Colonial Office: Statistics Department: Registered Files (STA Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1035 : Colonial Office: Intelligence and Security Departments: Registered Files (ISD Series) | E-Resource | |||
| CO 1037 : Colonial Office and Commonwealth Office: Police Department and successors: Registered Files (POL Series) | Microfilm | |||
| CO 1045 : Colonial Office and other departments: Papers of Sir Christopher Cox, Educational Adviser | E-Resource | |||
| CO 323 : Colonies, General: Original Correspondence | Microfilm | E-Resource | ||
| CO 380 : Colonial Office and Predecessors: General Draft Letters Patent, Commissions, Royal Instructions, Warrants, etc. | Microfilm | Digital Gems | ||
| CO 537 : Colonial Office and predecessors: Confidential Original Correspondence - Straits Settlements Subseries vols 45 – 48 [1873-1898] vols 1526 – 1571 & 1605 [1945-1946] - Malay States Subseries vols 790 – 802 [1917-1926] vols 1572 – 1604 [1945-1946] Many other SG/MY –related volumes scattered within this series |
Microfilm | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online |
| CO 825 : Eastern Original Correspondence | Microform | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |
| CO 859 : Colonial Office: Social Services Department and successors: Registered Files (12,000, SS and other Series) | Microfilm | E-Resource. | ||
| CO 865 : Far Eastern Reconstruction Original Correspondence | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 872 : Eastern Register of Correspondence | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 876 : Colonial Office: Welfare Department, later Students Department: Registered Files | Microfilm | |||
| CO 877 : Colonial Office: Appointments Department: Registered Files | Microfilm | |||
| CO 882 : Confidential Print Eastern | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 927 : Colonial Office: Research Department: Original Correspondence | Microfilm | |||
| CO 937 : Colonial Office and Commonwealth Office: Communications Department: Original Correspondence | Microfilm | |||
| CO 975 : Far Eastern Reconstruction; Registers of Correspondence | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 980 : Colonial Office: Prisoners of War and Civilian Internees Department | Microfilm | |||
| CO 987 : Colonial Office: Advisory Committee on Education in the Colonies: Papers and Minutes | E-Resource | |||
| CO 991 : Malayan Union and Singapore: Registers of Correspondence | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| DO 169 : Commonwealth Relations Office and Commonwealth Office: Far East and Pacific Department: Registered Files (FE Series) (... records of the Department relating to Singapore, Malaya and Malaysia, Brunei, ... and to matters of ... interest in the Far East, including defence matters) |
Microfilm | AM Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia | ||
| FCO 141 : Foreign and Commonwealth Office and predecessors: Records of Former Colonial Administrations: Migrated Archives Sub-Series : Malaya (vols 7225-7794) Brunei (vols 1545-1594 ; 12277-12281) North Borneo [North Borneo, Sarawak & Brunei] (vols 12282-13099 ; 19948-19950) Singapore (vol 14351-17162 ; 19947) |
E-Resource | UK Nat'l Archives Guide to the Migrated Archives | ||
| FCO 15 : FO & FCO: South East Asian Department: Registered Files Singapore Subseries vols 149 – 153 vols 1903 – 2680 Malaysia Subseries vols 783 – 789 vols 1917 – 2694 |
AM Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia | |||
| FCO 24 Commonwealth Office: Far East & Pacific Dept and Foreign & Commonwealth Office: SW Pacific Dept (C'wealth/UK relations with international economic, defence and development organisations in the Far East ...) |
AM Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia | |||
| FO 1091 Commissioner General for the UK in South East Asia, and UK Commissioner for Singapore & South East Asia (... United Kingdom's relations with Malaya, Singapore and Borneo, especially as regards defence and constitutional development.) |
Microfilm | Digital Gems |
| FO 371 : Foreign Office: Political Departments: General Correspondence from 1906-1966 | Microfilm | E-Resource | AM Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia | |
| FO 422 : Foreign Office: Confidential Print Siam & South East Asia (1882-1956) | ||||
| FO 71 : Foreign Office: Political and Other Departments: General Correspondence before 1906, Sulu Islands | E-Resource | |||
| FO 1101 : Foreign Office: Political Adviser to the Commander-in-Chief, Far East: Records (1965-1966) |
||||
| T 236 : Treasury: Overseas Finance Division: Registered Files (OF and 2OF Series) | Microfilm | |||
| T 237 : Treasury: Overseas Finance (Marshall Aid) Division: Registered Files (OFM Series) | Microfilm | |||
| T 273 : Treasury: Papers of Lord Bridges | Microfilm |
British North Borneo / Sarawak / Brunei / Labuan
| CO / DO / FO / FCO Series & Title | NUSL Microfilm | NUSL E-Resources | NUSL Subscribed E-Resources | Other / Related References |
| CO 1040 : The Rajah of Sarawak Fund: Papers | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 144 : War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Labuan, Original Correspondence - Secretary of State | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| CO 146 : War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Labuan, Miscellanea | Microfilm | Digital Gems | ||
| CO 352 : Colonial Office and Predecessor: Labuan Register of Correspondence | Microfilm | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 404 : Colonial Office and Predecessor: Labuan Entry Books | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 487 : Colonial Office: Labuan Register of Out-Letters | Microform. | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 531 : British North Borneo Original Correspondence | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 777 : British North Borneo: Register of Correspondence | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 778 : British North Borneo: Register of Out-Letters | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 874 : British North Borneo Company: Papers | E-Resource | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 938 : Sarawak: Original Correspondence | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 943 : Brunei: Original Correspondence | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 947 : Commission of Enquiry in North Borneo and Sarawak regarding Malaysian Federation (Cobbold Commission, 1962) | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | Kratoska's Index to Colonial Office Files | |
| CO 954 : Borneo Territories: Original Correspondence | Microform | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | ||
| CO 992 : North Borneo, Brunei and Sarawak: Registers of Correspondence | Gale State Papers Colonial Online | |||
| FO 12 : Foreign Office: Political and Other Departments: General Correspondence before 1906, Borneo | E-Resource | |||
| FO 572 : Foreign Office: Confidential Print Borneo and Sulu | E-Resource |
Compiled by Herman FMY. Please contact us if you need assistance in using and searching these records.