This is your one-stop Library guide to essential resources for research in Sociology. Below is a summary of what you can find in this guide. Go to the top panel and click on individual tabs to find out more.
- Books, Journals, Databases
Explore the FindMore search engine to locate books, journals and access databases
- Theses and Dissertations
Theses & dissertations deposited in NUS Libraries as well as those indexed in databases worldwide
- Databases
Subject-specific and multidisciplinary databases for searching scholarly journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, statistics, datasets, newspapers, working papers...
- Statistics / Data
- Find Full Text
Set up Find It and the Proxy Bookmarklet in Google Scholar to get full texts of source titles subscribed by NUS Libraries.
- Alerts
Keep current through subscribing to alerts for journals, databases, news, Google and NUS Libraries collections. Includes BrowZine.
- Writing
Selected guides on academic writing for Sociology and Anthropology
- Research Methods
Check out the Sage Research Methods database for help in your research - from defining a topic, developing a research question, data analysis, writing up and dissemination.
- Open Educational Resources (OER)
Listings of open repositories, search engines, journals, textbooks, courses, films, videos, images, photos... that are available in the public domain or are issued under a license that allows for free use and re-purposing.
- Websites, Blogs
Popular web sources, blogs,... relating to Sociology and Anthropology
- Citing
Cite references in the American Sociological Association (ASA) style
- Reference Managers
NUS Libraries provide support for Zotero, ZoteroBib, Mendeley and EndNote.
- Recent Titles
Sociology-related titles recently added to the NUS Library collection.
Graduate students may wish to refer to Sociology Resources for Graduate Students libguide.
Need help? Contact me for a research consultation.
