LibGuides: Sociology: Databases

Subject-Specific Databases

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Covers the international literature of Sociology, Social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Coverage 1952- current.
Sociology Collection (ProQuest)
This collection provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing databases as well as full-text journal and non-journal content needed by sociology and social work researchers.
BAS (Bibliography of Asian Studies) Online
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 860,400 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database of primary source materials on all aspects of cultural and social life worldwide. It provides a systematically organized collection of books and articles on ethnographic and other materials from a variety of sources. Full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. The collections are organized based on two thesauri - Outline of the World Cultures (OWC) and: Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
Anthropology Plus
Provides bibliographic information for materials covering Anthropology, Archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research from 5,870 sources. Subjects also include Art History, Folklore, Linguistics, Museum Studies, Psychology, and Religious Studies.
Abstracts in anthropology
Brings together broad spectrum of anthropological topics from hundreds of periodicals, across all sub-fields, including: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology and Linguistics.

Research Publications, Working Papers

Many universities and research organisations make their working papers freely available on their websites. If you know of a University department, research centre or think tank that is doing research in your topic, check out their website. Many websites categorized their working papers under the headings "Research" or "Publications" or "Working papers". Below are some examples:

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus
Covers scientific, engineering, technical, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Updated daily, Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals; selected articles from trade journals; book chapters; edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus provides citation tracking and is highly recommended for interdisciplinary search.
Social Sciences Abstracts (EbscoHost)
Featured database for Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology. Indexes articles, interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book reviews in English language periodicals.
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science)
A popular index to the journal literature in thevSocial Sciences. In many ways similar to Scopus, SSCI provides citation tracking. Frequent updates makes it a good source for very recent information. For comprehensive search results, check the "Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities" box.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full text that offers indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Academic OneFile
A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals for academic research. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the arts. Also contains podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
PERIND
Useful index to journal articles, book reviews and chapters, and conference papers relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN. Covers humanities, social sciences, business, architecture, building, law & medicine.

Newspapers

Factiva
News and business information from leading news and business publications from over 150 countries, 350 geographic regions and in more than 20 languages. It includes daily and archival news coverage of globally influential newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, South China Morning Post, The Times, and local newspapers such as The Straits Times and Business Times.
Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis Academic)
Access to 6,000 titles in news, business and legal information. Includes full text coverage of industry and market news, company financial information, accounting information, law reviews, state and country profiles from newspapers, wire services, magazines and trade journals, and U.S. federal and state case law.
NewspaperSG
NewspapersSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers created by the National Library Board. Please use Factiva or Nexis Uni to search for newspaper articles after 1991.

More Newspapers

Sociology: Databases

Databases for Research

Subject-Specific Databases

Research Publications, Working Papers

Multidisciplinary Databases

Newspapers