"Open Educational Resources are teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions" -- The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
Open Educational Resources by NUS Libraries
The above guide covers the following:
Beyond Race: Cultural Influences on Human Social Life by
A text for introductory courses on cultural sociology. The book is an open educational resource (OER) that provides sociological terms, concepts, theories, and research in the study of culture. The book contains five modules with sociological applications on: 1) Culture and Meaning, 2) Culture as a Social Construct, 3) Cultural Power, 4) Cultural Identity, and 5) The Multicultural World.
The Gender Policy Report
Summary
“Gender Policy Report contributions clarify the gendered bases of policy practices and conflicts. They offer diverse public audiences informed perspectives on how policies matter for gender equality, gender equity and constructions of gender itself.
Working across varied media platforms, the Gender Policy Report seeks to inform policy debates and improve public discourse. Our mission is to take the best insights from scholarship and research and make them accessible to broader communities in a way that is timely for addressing serious policy challenges”.
Human Security in World Affairs: Problems and Opportunities. 2nd ed. by
This first and only university textbook of human security is intended as an introductory text from senior undergraduate level up includes chapters by 24 authors,from BC, Canada, and around the globe, that encompass the full spectrum of disciplines contributing to the human security field. It is based on the four pillar model of socio-political security, economic security, environmental security and health security. The chapters include learning outcomes, extension activities,and suggested readings; a comprehensive glossary lists key terms used throughout the book. It can be used in courses on international studies and relations, political studies, history, human geography, anthropology and human ecology, futures studies, applied social studies, public health, and more.
OECD Better Life Index
“Since it was founded in 1961, the OECD has helped governments design better policies for better lives for their citizens and has been actively involved in the debate on well-being, providing evidence and developing a measurement framework. Based on this experience, the OECD launched in 2011 the Better Life Index, an online tool where citizens can tell the OECD what matters for their well-being, and become more informed on how countries perform based on 11 topics essential to well-being in terms of material living conditions (housing, income, jobs) and quality of life (community, education, environment, governance, health, life satisfaction, safety and work-life balance)”.
Our World in Data
“This site allows people to explore the ongoing history of human civilization at the broadest level, through research and data visualization”
"Poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality: The world faces many great and terrifying problems. It is these large problems that our work at Our World in Data focuses on."
Principles of Sociological Inquiry by
emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers, undergraduate students. Each chapter describes how research methodology is useful for students in the multiple roles they fill:
-As consumers of popular and public information
-As citizens
-As current and future employees. Connections to these roles are made throughout and directly within the main text of the book
Public Opinion on Social Issues, 1975-2017. Module by
The module was designed to introduce students to bivariate and multivariate analysis using survey data. The focus is on two and three variable crosstabulations. Chi square and measures of association are introduced and may or may not be used as the instructor wishes. The codebook includes some variables in both recoded and unrecoded form (age, education) so the instructor may teach recoding or not teach it. Variables have been created and added to the data set for religiosity and tolerance. There are two data sets--one that includes only the 2018 file and the other that include data from seven time periods (1975, 1982, 1989, 1996, 2003 (2002 and 2004 files were combined to represent 2003), 2010, and 2017 (2016 and 2018 files were combined to represent 2017). All data are from the General Social Survey. Instructors can choose to focus on a detailed analysis of a single year or on change over time. The focus of the module is on developing and testing hypotheses.
Schooling the World: The White Man's Last Burden -- Film by
The film "...takes a challenging, sometimes funny, ultimately deeply disturbing look at the effects of modern education on the world's last sustainable indigenous cultures. "Generations from now, we'll look back and say, 'How could we have done this kind of thing to people?"
Social Media in Industrial China by
"Described as the biggest migration in human history, an estimated 250 million Chinese people have left their villages in recent decades to live and work in urban areas. Xinyuan Wang spent 15 months living among a community of these migrants in a small factory town in southeast China to track their use of social media. It was here she witnessed a second migration taking place: a movement from offline to online. As Wang argues, this is not simply a convenient analogy but represents the convergence of two phenomena as profound and consequential as each other, where the online world now provides a home for the migrant workers who feel otherwise ‘homeless’.
Wang’s fascinating study explores the full range of preconceptions commonly held about Chinese people – their relationship with education, with family, with politics, with ‘home’ – and argues why, for this vast population, it is time to reassess what we think we know about contemporary China and the evolving role of social media."
Social Problems: Continuity and Change by
Social Problems: Continuity and Change certainly does not minimize the persistence of social problems, but neither does it overlook the possibilities for change offered by social research and by the activities of everyday citizens working to make a difference. Readers of Steve Barkan’s book will find many examples of how social problems have been improved and of strategies that hold great potential for solving them today and in the future.
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology by
This textbook is a collection of chapters on the essential topics in cultural anthropology. Different from other introductory textbooks, this book is an edited volume with each chapter written by a different author. Each author has written from their experiences working as an anthropologist and that personal touch makes for an accessible introduction to cultural anthropology. British Colmbia contributors include: contributing author Logan Cochrane, UBC, (chapter 16: Seeing Like an Anthroplogist...
Why We Post by
A series of 11 ground-breaking and accessible ethnographic studies. Nine are monographs devoted to specific field sites in Brazil, Chile, China, England, India, Italy, Trinidad and Turkey.
The Art of Being Human: A Textbook for Cultural Anthropology by
Real anthropology cannot be contained in a book. You have to go out and feel the world’s jagged edges, wipe its dust from your brow, and at times, leave your blood in its soil. In this unique book, Dr. Michael Wesch shares many of his own adventures of being an anthropologist and what the science of human beings can tell us about the art of being human.
Doing Anthropology by
Thoughts on Fieldwork From Three Research Sites Cultural Anthropology is a social science that explores how people understand - and act in - the world. But what, exactly, is it that Cultural Anthropologists do? How do they approach their research? In this short film, three members of MIT's Anthropology Department, Stefan Helmreich, Erica James, and Heather Paxson, talk about their current work and the process of doing fieldwork.
Who gets to be called ‘indigenous’, and why? by
Full text, slightly revised, of the keynote address (10 April 2015) at International Conference on Access to Justice for Indigenous Peoples Centre for Malaysian Indigenous Studies (CMIS) and Faculty of Law University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, 9–11 April 2015
More Datasets