This is the "Main" page of the "India Legal Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

India Legal Research Guide  

Guide to Indian legal resources available at the C J Koh Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2014 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Main Print Page

Search for Law Resources (not comprehensive)

Use this for secondary sources only.

Search FAQ



Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:

Your Email:



Law in India 

This subject guide covers resources available at the NUS Libraries, in particular the C J Koh Law Library.

Introduction to Indian legal system

India is a union of 28 states and 7 union territories. India became an Independant Democratic Republic on 15 August 1947. India is governed in terms of the Constitution of India, which was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950. The President is the head of Union executive. The Prime minister is the head of Council of Ministers and the chief advisor to the President. The Prime Minister leads the executive branch of Government of India.

India has a common law legal system. The union and state have seperate executive and legislative branches and the union territories are governed by national government. India Supreme Court is the apex court in India, followed by High Courts at state level. Subordinate courts comes below the High Court which comprises of District Courts at district level and lower level courts.

Related guides

by Su-Lin Lee - Last Updated Oct 9, 2014
A start guide to legal research in the C J Koh Law Library
4,217 views this year

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Law Resource Team

Loading  Loading...