Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Pro Bono: Pro Bono Guides

Introduction

This section features manuals, guides and brochures which provide information and instructions to students and lawyers involved in pro bono work.

Guides and Manuals

A. Criminal Legal Assistance Schemes

Criminal Legal Aid Scheme (CLAS)
Administered by the Law Society of Singapore, this scheme provides legal assistance to those charged with non-capital offences and who cannot afford legal counsel.

Singapore Courts: Seek Help for a Criminal Case
Information on criminal legal assistance schemes including:

B. Legal Aid Scheme

Legal Aid Scheme
This scheme is administered by the Legal Aid Bureau. The Bureau provides legal advice, assistance in drafting simple legal documents and representations in civil proceedings for those who qualify under the scheme.

Various guides can be found on the LAB website, including the following:

Pro Bono Guide (2010?)
Published by the Law Society of Singapore with the aim of giving Singapore lawyers an overview of pro bono volunteer opportunities with various organisations and agencies serving the community.

Pro Bono Guide for Law Practices (2012)
Reference guide for law practices seeking to establish, develop or expand their pro bono practices. Published by the Law Society of Singapore. 

Singapore In-House Legal Counsel Pro Bono Guide (2016)
Provides in-house legal counsel with information on the scope of work which they are allowed to undertake, as well as the opportunities available to them. Launched by DLA Piper, The Law Society's Pro Bono Services Office and the Singapore Corporate Counsel Association.

A. General

Represent Yourself in Court: Rights and Responsibilities
Information on how a litigant-in-person (LIP) will have to handle court proceedings and applications without a lawyer.

B. Civil Matters

User Guide: Rights and Responsibilities of Self-represented Parties in Civil Proceedings
Information for the self-represented litigant in a civil case in the High Court, State Courts or Family Justice Courts. Published on the Singapore Courts website.

How to File for Bankruptcy for Yourself
Information on the Debtor's Bankruptcy Application. Published on the Singapore Courts website.

C. Criminal Trial

Guidebook for Accused In Person: A Guide to Representing Yourself in Court
Written and Published by the Community Justice Centre of the Singapore State Courts, this guidebook is meant to help self-represented accused understand the criminal process.

Represent Yourself in a Criminal Trial
The steps to take in a criminal trial when one chooses to conduct a case without a lawyer. Published on the Singapore Courts website. Also see:

Advocates for the Arts: A Legal Handbook for the Creative Industries (2018)
Legal guide by The Law Society Pro Bono Services for persons working in the creative industries, in particular, freelancers. "It provides practical information for the individual and the organisation, ranging from maternity benefits and insurance to templates to enable the reader to put together a do-it-yourself contract." -- abstract from forward by Vice- President.

COV-AID (2020)
COV-AID is made up of a team of NUS Law students. It was born out of the desire to help the community comprehend the vast number of laws, regulations and legal issues arising from COVID-19. Contains sections on Government Grants and Navigating COVID-19 Laws as well as academic essays and interviews with lawyers on the impact of the pandemic.

COVID-19 Legal Booklet for Migrant Workers (2020)
Guide covering some of the problems faced by migrant workers due to COVID-19 like salary, termination of employment and transfer issues. Published with the assistance of NUS Law students by the Centre of Pro Bono and Clinical Legal Education. It is available in 5 other languages on the CPBCLE website.

COVID-19: Legal Factsheet for Migrant Workers (2020)
Created with the assistance of NUS Law students working under the NUS Centre for Pro Bono and Clinical Legal Education. This Infographic is published in 5 other languages on the CPBCLE website.

IP Arts Infopack (2020)
Manual produced by the Intellectual Property Students' Association (NUS Law), and supported by IPOS and NUS Centre for the Arts. Seeks to equip visual and performing arts groups in Singapore with a basic framework for understanding IP protection in Singapore.

Know the Law Now! (2015)
This booklet serves as a basic introduction to the law in Singapore and as an initial reference point on legal issues. Published by the Law Society of Singapore.

Law Works Pocket Series
This series of booklets covers various aspects of labour law and aims to educate employees on their legal rights. Published by the National Trades Union Congress and Law Society of Singapore:

Legal Toolkit for Witnesses: With a Focus on Vulnerable Witnesses (2020)
Joint collaboration between the NUS Centre for Pro Bono & Clinical Legal Education, Hagar Singapore Ltd, the State Courts and the Community Justice Centre.

LEGALESE: A Legal Handbook for Community Organisations (2016)
Handbook published by the Law Society of Singapore providing bite-sized pieces of information to the general public on the various legal aspects of setting up and running a social enterprise or non-profit entity.

A Step-by-Step Guide to Deputyship Applications
Prepared by NUS Law students and published by the NUS Centre for Pro Bono & Clinical Legal Education. This guidebook is useful to caregivers who are intending to apply for deputyship orders in person. Available for reference in the C J Koh Law Library.

When a Death Occurs: a Guide to Practical Matters
Published in partnership with Ang Chin Moh Foundation, this is a collaboration between Singapore Hospice Council and volunteer students from NUS Law supervised by AP Ruby Lee. It covers legal aspects relating to a death, including asset distribution.

Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Su-Lin Lee
Contact:
C J Koh Law Library
469D Bukit Timah Road, Singapore 259773
Phone: +65 6516 2042
Subjects: Law