Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Pro Bono: Employment & Compensation

Introduction

This section provides information on fair employment practices and guidance to those seeking recourse for employment-related issues, e.g. claims relating to salary, unfair dismissal and work injury.

                                                                                    ------------------------------------------------

Acknowledgement: Special thanks to Charmaine Yap Yun Ning '18 (LL.B. (Hon.) NUS) her advice and assistance in this section.

Resources

A. Guidelines

Ministry of Manpower
Find information and guidelines on:

See also: List of Tripartite Guidelines and Advisories by MOM.

Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practices (TAFEP)
Resources include Information and guidelines on:

B. Remedies

1. General

COVID-19: Legal Factsheet for Migrant Workers
Created with the assistance of NUS Law students working under the NUS Centre for Pro Bono and Clinical Legal Education. This Infographic is published in 5 other languages on the CPBCLE website.

A Practitioner's Manual for Migrant Workers: Pursuing Civil Claims in Singapore and from Abroad (2016)
Manual published by Justice Without Borders (JWB) on how to help migrant workers who are victims of exploitation and human trafficking in Singapore to bring claims against their abusers. The full text is made available here for reference, with the permission of JWB. However, do consider a donation in support of JWB if you download the manual.

2. Salary and Wrongful Dismissal Claims

COVID-19 Legal Booklet for Migrant Workers
Guide covering some of the problems faced by migrant workers due to COVID-19 like salary, termination of employment and transfer issues. Published with the assistance of NUS Law students by the Centre of Pro Bono and Clinical Legal Education. It is available in 5 other languages on the CPBCLE website.

Managing Employment Disputes (Ministry of Manpower)
Information on the resolution of salary-related claims and other employment disputes.

Know Your Options (Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management)
The TADM is jointly set up by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) and Singapore National Employers Federation (SNEF). It provides advisory and mediation services to help employees and employers manage employment disputes (including wrongful dismissal and salary claims) or self-employed persons manage payment-related disputes.

Overview of the Employment Claims Tribunal
The ECT provides employees and employers with a speedy and low-cost forum to resolve their salary-related disputes.However, to bring a claim before the ECT, parties must first register their claims at the Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management for mediation. For more information on process and procedures, click on Filing a claim at the Employment Claims Tribunals (highlighted in red) in the left panel of the Overview page.

3. Work Injury Claims

Work Injury Compensation (Ministry of Manpower)
The Work Injury Compensation Act (WICA) lets employees make claims for work-related injuries or diseases, without having to take legal action. Website includes guidelines on eligibility of claims and how employees can make claims with the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) as well as an explanation of the differences between making a WICA claim and filing a civil suit under common law.

A. Self-help Options

1. Centre for Domestic Employees
Organisation provides advisory, mediation and counselling services to domestic employees on employment related matters.

Add: CDE @ Peninsula Plaza, 111 North Bridge Road, #04-37, Singapore 179098
Tel: 1800 2255 233 (1800 CALL CDE)
Form: Contact us

2. HealthServe
Work includes casework and legal support to migrant workers with work injury claims and legal, criminal or employment-related issues as well as a variety of social assistance programs to unemployed migrant workers.

Add: HealthServe Head Office, 1 Lorong 23 Geylang, #01-07 Building 4, Singapore 388352. For other addresses, click here.
Tel: 3157 4450
Email: info@healthserve.org.sg

3. Humanitarian Organization for Migration Economics (HOME)
HOME provides assistance to migrant workers who suffer abuse and exploitation. Problems include wage theft, work injuries, poor living conditions, and physical, verbal and psychological abuse. HOME also assists and advocates on behalf of survivors of human trafficking and forced labour.

Contact information: https://www.home.org.sg/contact/

4. Migrant Workers' Centre (MWC)
The MWC is a non-government organisation whose mission is to champion fair employment practices and the well-being of migrant workers in Singapore. Work includes providing migrant workers with interim shelter and food as well as providing advice and assistance to those seeking remedies against unfair employment practices. Migrant workers may seek basic legal advice at the free legal clinic.

Add: MWC Help Centre, 579 Serangoon Road, Singapore 218193
Tel: +65 6536 2692
Email: feedback@mwc.org.sg‚Äč

*5. Ministry of Manpower (MOM)
Ministry responsible for the formulation and implementation of labour policies relating to the workforce in Singapore.

Add: (i) MOM Services Centre, 1500 Bendemeer Road, Singapore 339946
         (ii) Employment Pass Services Centre, The Riverwalk, 20 Upper Circular Road, #04-01/02, Singapore 058416
Tel: +65 6438 5122 (More hotline numbers)
Forms (general): https://www.mom.gov.sg/contact-us
Form (injuries and health): WSH Incident Reporting

6. Transient Workers Count Too (TWC2)
TWC2 is a non-profit organisation and registered charity. The organisation promotes fair treatment for migrant workers. Workers requiring legal assistance may receive help at the Wednesday Clinic.

Add: 5001 Beach Road, #09-86 Golden Mile Complex, Singapore 199588
Tel: +65 6247 7001
Email: info@twc2.org.sg
Form: Reach out to us

7. Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management (TADM)
TADM helps employees and employers manage employment disputes, or self-employed persons manage payment-related disputes through advisory and mediation services.

Add: MOM Services Centre, 1500 Bendemeer Road, Hall A Level 3, Singapore 339946 (services for work pass holders)
Forms: eServices

8. Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practices (TAFEP)
The TAFEP promotes the adoption of fair, responsible and progressive employment practices among employers, employees and the general public.

Add: 80 Jurong East Street 21, #02-05 Devan Nair Institute for Employment and Employability, Singapore 609607
Tel: +65 6838 0969 (to speak to an officer about workplace discrimination or harassment)
Forms: Contact us

*main government body in charge of employment matters.

B. Legal Remedies

1. Salary Claims

a. Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management (TADM)
TADM provides mediation services in the case of salary-related claims. To find out more, click here.

Add: MOM Services Centre, 1500 Bendemeer Road, Hall A Level 3, Singapore 339946 (services for work pass holders)
Forms: eServices

b. Employment Claims Tribunals
The ECT provides employees and employers with a speedy and low-cost forum to resolve their salary-related disputes.To bring a claim before the ECT, parties must first register their claims at the Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management for mediation. For more information on process and procedures, click on Filing a claim at the Employment Claims Tribunals (highlighted in red) in the left panel of the Overview page.

Add: Level 3 State Courts, 1 Havelock Square, 059724
Form: CJTS (filing a claim)

2. Wrongful Dismissal Claims
a. Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management (TADM)
TADM provides mediation services in the case of wrongful dismissal claims. To find out more, click here. More information is available on the MOM website.

Add: MOM Services Centre, 1500 Bendemeer Road, Hall A Level 3, Singapore 339946 (services for work pass holders)
Forms: eServices

b. Ministry of Manpower
A written appeal may be submitted to the the Ministry of Manpower if you feel that you have been wrongfully dismissed due to your age or have been denied re-employment. Refer to the Tripartite Guidelines on Wrongful Dismissal for more information on what constitutes a wrongful dismissal.

Add: MOM Services Centre, 1500 Bendemeer Road, Singapore 339946
Form: Appeal (against wrongful dismissal due to your age or denial of re-employment)

c. Employment Claims Tribunals
The ECT provides employees and employers with a speedy and low-cost forum to resolve their employment disputes.To bring a claim before the ECT, parties must first register their claims at the Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management for mediation. For more information on process and procedures, click on Filing a claim at the Employment Claims Tribunals (highlighted in red) in the left panel of the Overview page.

Add: Level 3 State Courts, 1 Havelock Square, 059724
Form: CJTS (filing a claim)

3. Work Injury Claims

Ministry of Manpower
Add: MOM Services Centre, 1500 Bendemeer Road, Singapore 339946

Injured employees may seek assistance from the Ministry of Manpower in the following ways:

A. General
Forms (Ministry of Manpower)
Various forms on the MOM website including:

  • Request Form for Amendment of Personal Particulars
  • Security Bond Form for Foreign Workers (Domestic and Non-Domestic).

B. Health, Safety and Injuries

Forms made available by the Ministry of Manpower to report workplace safety issues and to submit work injury claims:

C. Wrongful Dismissal and Salary Claims
Appeal under Retirement and Re-employment (Ministry of Manpower)
Use this form to submit an appeal to the Minister for Manpower if you feel you have been wrongfully dismissed due to your age or have been denied re-employment.

eServices (Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management)
Use these eServices to file a claim for mediation for employment-related claims at the TADM.

Contact Us (Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practices)
Forms for reporting workplace discrimination and harassment as well as to seek advice on the Employment Act or relevant labour laws (paid service)

A. Textbooks

B. Manuals
Labour Protection for the Vulnerable: an Evaluation of the Salary and Injury Claims System for Migrant Workers in Singapore

Authors: Tamera Fillinger, Nicholas Harrigan, Stephanie Chok, Amirah Amirrudin, Patricia Meyer, Meera Rajah and Debbie Fordyce
Published by TWC2
June 2017

A Practitioner's Manual for Migrant Workers: Pursuing Civil Claims in Singapore and from Abroad
Authors and editors: Douglas Maclean, Charmaine Yap, Misa Mitsugi, Sanjana Jayaraman, Stephanie Teh, Sheila Hayre
Published by Justice Without Borders, in partnership with the NUS Faculty of Law, Pro Bono Group
May 2016 (2nd ed)
(The full text is made available here for reference, with the permission of JWB. Please consider a donation in support of JWB if you download the manual)

Resource Librarian

Profile Photo
Lee Su-Lin
Contact:
C J Koh Law Library
469D Bukit Timah Road, Singapore 259773
+65 6516 2042
Website
Subjects: Law