Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open-access / free e-books
American Verse Project
A collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. Contains volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
Provides access to the complete Oxford Shakespeare, the 70 volumes of the Harvard Classics and Shelf of Fiction, multiple reference books and hundreds of other fiction, poetry, and nonfiction books.
Complete Works of William Shakespeare
From MIT, this site claims to be the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. The works are in simple HTML format.
The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online (or Darwin Online) is the largest and most widely consulted edition of the writings of Darwin ever published.
Digital Public Library of America
Contains descriptions of "millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the U.S.
Directory of Open Access Books
Includes more than 18,000 academic titles in subject areas including: Performing Arts; Business & Economics; History; Languages & Literature; Political Science; Philosophy; Religion; Media & Communication; and Social Sciences. You can click on the icon "e" to download the list of titles available in DOAB.
A searchable database of books, but not all the content is available for free. To search for fulltext books only:
1. Go to the Advanced Book Search
2. Specify your search criteria
3. Limit searches to ‘public domain’ only
A collection of books from the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press. The books on this platform focus on History as a subject.
HathiTrust (Global Public Domain only)
A collection of books digitized by US research libraries for preservation. It is good for academic use. Access to some of the content is restricted. To search for fulltext books only:
1. Use the Full-text Search
2. Enter your search terms
3. Limit to: Full View Only
De Gruyter publishes open access books across a total of 30 subject areas in science, technology, engineering and medicine (STEM), and humanities and social sciences (HSS).
Historical Mathematics Collection
The University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection is a growing library of books selected from the University of Michigan mathematics collection that have been digitized to improve access and to preserve the content of these books. All of the books in this collection were published in the 19th or early 20th century.
Humanities Text Initiative
The Humanities Text Initiative, a unit of the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Service, provides online access to selected full text resources including an online journal of book reviews, a catalog of electronic texts available via the Internet, and a linguistics database, as well as the more familiar collections of poetry and prose.
Also known as 'Internet Library’ is a non-profit organization created with the goal of offering permanent access to digital information. In addition to academic books, their e-books and texts archive includes fiction, popular books, children's books and historical texts.
Internet Classics Archive
The more famous and some lesser known authors of Greek and Roman literature.
More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction containing approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. Subject areas covered include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf
US Government website providing free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
The collection can be searched and, in some cases, browsed and downloaded. This site is linked to PubMed.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books cover a wide range of subjects and have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Perseus Digital Library
Produced at Tufts University, provides digital images and transcribed text (in translation or original language) from ancient Greek and Latin sources. Also includes documents related to English Renaissance literature and to London.
Some open access monographs available in PDF format in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
Provide access to thousands of ebooks on various subjects. Majority of the titles are published prior to 1923 (out of copyright) and available for download to a computer or mobile device. More information at http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Gutenberg:MobileReader_Devices_How-To
University of California Press eScholarship
A number of the UC Press ebooks are open to the public and cover many disciplines. Limit search results to "public access books".
University of Oxford Text Archive
The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning
University of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions
Pitt Press has selected several hundred monographs for open access, including titles from the Pitt Latin American Series, Pitt Series in Russian and East European Studies, and Composition, Literacy and Culture.
William Blake Archive
A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Rochester, and the Scholarly Editions and Translations Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
The purpose is to make available every novel published in the U.S from 1851 to 1875. Presently includes 2,887 volumes by 1,456 authors.